Fresh Tomato Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Great BASIC recipe. This is good starters. But DO NOT sauté. It'll be super mushy. I jut added everything into the pot with an additional bell pepper and about 1/4 cup of sugar. It was to tart for me. I don't think I would have liked it without my additions but like I said very basic recipe. Still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I really like this recipe but I did a few things a little differently - I sautéed the onions in oil while running the tomatoes through my blender - I kept the seeds and just roughly chopped the tomatoes before processing them. Once the onions were ready, I just poured the tomato puree on top, so that saved me from having to use one more pan. I added a small pinch of freshly cut basil to the sauce every 20 minutes or so, which I think helped me obtain a bright basil flavor. I added a few other dry seasonings for a little lift, like crushed red pepper flakes and garlic salt. Overall this is a great recipe, and its simplicity is what makes it so great. Using fresh tomatoes really does beat any other sauce I've made in the past. Love it! Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Overall good and simple and a GREAT way to use up tomatoes in late summer. It ended up a little chunkier than we prefer (specifically my kids), but the flavor was great. Other than the chopping, the cooking itself was low maintenance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This was great! we used fresh roma tomatoes which were super easy for de- seeding and also added in a couple fresh chilli peppers to spice it up! I look forward to continue to experiment with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Very good. I used more basil a couple tablespoons more. Added about a tbls of Italian Seasoning. Increased to 8 serving and I had plenty to send home with Dad and a full container for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This is my go-to recipe for marinara sauce to freeze in large quantities. I make a few minor changes to suit my family's tastes. I peel the tomatoes and add bay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Made this today - the only changes I made was in the prep of the tomatoes. I used fresh Roma tomatoes which I blanched, skinned and then "squished" by hand into small pieces. This sauce is flavorful and a great base for pasta dishes. Tonight we'll be enjoying it with meatballs and rotini :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GAHSMOMX3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
This recipe is really delicious. Our family loves garlic so I tripled the # of cloves. Also, I only used @ 3 TBL of oil... not sure why you would want 1/2 cup? I didn't seed the tomatoes and found it very fluid toward at the end of 2 hours, a half a can of tomato paste firmed it up nicely. You could also use a roux to thicken for a more natural sauce. I will definitely make this sauce again; it is a fantastic way to use the influx of ripe tomatoes from the garden that all seem to come at the same time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena Chafin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Tried this recipe for the first time, it turned out great! I will never buy store bought pasta sauce again. I made some minor changes on the recipe though like what the others suggested. I doubled the garlic quantity, added parsley and oregano. I also peeled my tomatoes but I didn't bother seeding them. At the end I use my hand blender to smooth it out. Me and my husband loved this recipe I might have to start learning to do canning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I used my dad's garden tomatoes for this recipe - nothing like fresh, organic ingredients! I stuck to the recipe except for a few additions. I added Italian seasoning, oregano, and some leftover pesto in place of basil (pesto is a Northern Italian pasta sauce made with basil, garlic, and olive oil). I also only simmered it for about half an hour. The product was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States