Fresh Tomato Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I have used this recipe twice now and it is wonderful. I love the thickness of it once it is cooked for the two hours. I did however add some rosemary just to deepen the flavor of it. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I made this one using the tomatoes and basils from my garden. I couldn't wait and ate some after only 15 minutes of simmering all the ingredients and it was still fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This was my first attempt at home-made tomato sauce. It was a great way to use some of the tomatoes from our garden. First of all, the smell in my house while making this sauce was divine! I didn't like the consistency of the sauce after the two hours of cooking. I took the sauce and pureed it in the blender, returned it to the pot and cooked for another hour. I also added red pepper for a bit of a kick. We liked the flavor of the sauce, although I think that next time I make it, I'll add some tomato paste to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Great way to use all those garden fresh tomatoes in the summer months. Seeding the tomatoes loses a lot of natural flavor, so I simply chopped the tomatoes and then added a 6-oz. can of tomato paste when I stirred together the tomatoes and veggies. This gave the sauce a great consistency and flavor. I also added a chopped green pepper to the onion and garlic for additional flavor and nutrition. My family likes pasta sauce with lots of herb flavor, so in addition to the basil and garlic, I added one heaping tablespoon of dried oregano and some thyme. To make a smoother sauce (for picky kids like mine), puree the cooked tomatoes and veggies before adding the tomato paste. This makes the perfect sauce to eat "as is" on pasta, to use as a pizza sauce, or to use as the base for meat-based Italian sauces. This is a great, basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Very tasty. I only had five tomatoes on hand, so I used a 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes to make up the difference. I used the fresh basil called for, but also added a tsp each of rosemary, oregano, and thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I thought this was good but better if you put in blender or food processer when it done for a more fine sauce. Freezer well also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I only had 6 tomatoes left from our garden. I boiled them for 2 minutes to make them easier to peel. I cooked everything for 2 hours, pureed it, and let simmer another 2 hours. It was better than I expected! I also added 2 Tbsp. organic butter at the end to add gloss and a little richness - I served it on mini-bowtie pasta - my 5 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buggymom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
This sauce was so yummy. I tweaked it slightly by adding chopped fresh rosemary and fresh parsley (about a heaping Tbsp. of each) and only added about a Tbsp. of basil instead of what the recipe called for. Also added a dash of crushed red pepper for a hint of spice. The sauce was so fresh and delicious. Next time, I may consider peeling the tomatoes first, but that's the only other change I'd make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
not an insignificant undertaking, time-wise. however, it's definitely worth it all. the taste is fantastic. bright, light and fresh. i added just a touch of crushed red pepper because we lot like it with a hint of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This tomato sauce was easy to make and very delicious. I used a combination of cherry tomatoes and regular tomatoes. I seeded the large tomatoes, but just halved the cherry tomatoes and threw them in the pot. In addition to fresh basil, I also used fresh oregano from the garden. After the sauce had been simmering for a couple of hours, I thought it looked a bit chunky for our taste. I pureed half of the sauce in a blender and then stirred it back into the pot to cook and reduce a bit longer. Turned out fantastic, with a really fresh taste. I froze most of it and have given some away to very appreciative friends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States