Fresh Tomato Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I've got my second batch of Fresh Tomato Basil Sauce simmering away and it is already delicious and rich after only 30 minutes. I follow this recipe with just a couple of changes. First, I do not seed or peel the tomatos; I enjoy the chunky texture with seeds and skins and feel like I'm throwing away the "good stuff" when I peel and seed. I also add at least one full cup of fresh basil but will add a full two cups next time. I like the flavor to be intense and the sauce to be thick and chunky. I heat some up for pasta; I use it as pizza sauce for the Spinach and Feta Pita Bake (this site), for wraps and for the sauce in my spinach lasagna. Thanks for the recipe. It is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rita, Santa Rita, Guam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I cut this down to about half. I added alot of extra basil and after cooking for two hours the sauce was way too runny. I cooked and cooked and cooked and FINALLY it was the consistancy I wanted. My kids didn't like it very much. I felt it was missing quite a bit of taste. I ended up adding italian seasoning which did help a bit but the flavor was still not what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
The was simply the best! I've tried several tomato based sauces on this site and this one wins hands down!! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Violet Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Loved it! Easy recipe and VERY tasty!!! Husband went back for seconds and commented 3 times during the meal how incredible it was. Added twice the amount of garlic, otherwise kept the recipe exact. Wonderful, chunky, flavorful summer dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
This is great, the only thing I did differently was add the fresh basil to the tomato mixture just before serving. Fresh basil looses its freshness if cooked a long period of time and the color remains bright green if added at the last minute. Minced fresh garlic also adds a wonderful taste. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Easy to make, but it definitely needs a lot more basil than called for (I doubled the amount), plus, go lighter on the oil, you don't need much to saute onions and garlic in, I used about 2 tbsp and it was just fine....let it simmer a good hour and a half and then added salt/pepper to taste. Served over whole wheat linguine - very good, just add more basil! you need to be able to taste it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I have made this sauce three times now and each time it gets better. This is easy to make and a great way to use fresh tomatoes. I run mine through the food processor after cooking as my daughter likes the smooth texture better. I boil my tomatoes for two to three minutes, cool and peel. I don’t remove the seeds. Some have complained about the consistency. The juicier the tomatoes, the juicer the sauce. You could cut the tomatoes up, then drain them for awhile or add tomato paste for a thicker sauce. Everyone who has tried this has loved it. I use it to make chicken parmesan. Thank you Mindim for this fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LaurenMV
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I only made a few minor changes starting with cutting the recipes down for only 3 lbs of tomatoes. I used herilooms and a dash of onion powder and NO onions. I hate onions. Everything else I left the same. It was a bit runny after simmering for a couple hours but I think it was partly because of how juicy my tomatoes were and the lack of onion. I don't like chunky sauce so I ran it through the blender for a few seconds just to break those up. This was my first attempt making sauce and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenMV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Felton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Great stuff! I added finely chopped green pepper just for fun. Pureed it at the end to make it smooth. I canned the batch (about 5 pints) for 35 minutes in a hot water bath. Looking forward to using it this winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Great taste, was a little watery for me even though I simmered it for over 2 hours. I would make it again. A great way to use up tomatoes. Will try to freeze portions for use later in the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dexter, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States