Fresh Tomato Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by kristins.whitewall
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
i never knew spaghetti could be so good. wow! I did ad an extra three cloves of garlic halfway through because I could tell it was not enough garlic for my taste. I used about 4 lbs heirloom tomatoes and 4 lbs normal tomatoes so I had a mix of colors. Next year I will make 10 batches and store it up for all winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I used tomatoes from our csa box and our home garden, so I definitely didn't have 8 pounds...so I just estimated amounts of the rest of the ingredients. The sauce was delicious. This was a great basic recipe for me to start from which is just what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I used 4 lbs of tomatoes and added the amount of garlic and basil specified for the original recipe, cut in half the onion and oil and added 1 1/2 tsp salt. I added 1/8 of a cup of merlo wine and 1 tsp of Italian seasoning. It was still a bit too watery for my taste so once it cooled I pureed it. It was not a thick sauce but my family really liked it. I think the water came from soaking the tomatoes in hot water to peel the skins. Next time I will do a better job at drying the tomatoes before seeding and dicing. I cooked the sauce in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
i did not add the onions, but included onion powder. also simmered for about 1/2 hour. i had some frozen tomato paste and added about 1 - 2 tbsps to thicken. great way to use up tomatoes that are just past their prime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
I made this for my very picky family and it was hit! A little time consuming but totally worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This is the same sauce my Italian mother-in-law taught me years ago and it's so easy to make and so delicious! Adding about a 1/2 to 1 cup of wine(red or white - just make sure it's a wine you love to drink too!) before you simmer it for a few hours gives it some extra depth and flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
What could be better then a fresh tomato and basil. To all of you who want to peel a tomato, all one has to do is pour boiling water over them and let them sit for a very brief period, and the skin will come right off. 2 minutes is a bit excessive, to my way of thinking, and unnecessary. If you don't want to cook, you could just peel and cut the tomatoes, add the garlic and basil, with a bit of salt, pepper, oil and vinegar and pour that over the pasta. I know, one should never make suggestions about a change when it is so drastic, but try it, its good, especially on a hot night. Sprinkle parmesean cheese on top. Done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLBrac

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I used much smaller proportions and simmered it down into a thick sauce, which I then put over pizza crust - tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I've got my second batch of Fresh Tomato Basil Sauce simmering away and it is already delicious and rich after only 30 minutes. I follow this recipe with just a couple of changes. First, I do not seed or peel the tomatos; I enjoy the chunky texture with seeds and skins and feel like I'm throwing away the "good stuff" when I peel and seed. I also add at least one full cup of fresh basil but will add a full two cups next time. I like the flavor to be intense and the sauce to be thick and chunky. I heat some up for pasta; I use it as pizza sauce for the Spinach and Feta Pita Bake (this site), for wraps and for the sauce in my spinach lasagna. Thanks for the recipe. It is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rita, Santa Rita, Guam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I cut this down to about half. I added alot of extra basil and after cooking for two hours the sauce was way too runny. I cooked and cooked and cooked and FINALLY it was the consistancy I wanted. My kids didn't like it very much. I felt it was missing quite a bit of taste. I ended up adding italian seasoning which did help a bit but the flavor was still not what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States