Fresh Tomato Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Yum! This was fabulous....I added fresh oregano and used only about 3 T olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Amazing sauce! I didn't use the whole Onion, but most of it - but I did add extra garlic. I didn't seed them either. It is so delicious - and not just according to me :-) I have canned some of this and plan to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Excellent! My only teeny tiny problem with this recipe is that I felt the proportions were a little off, at least for the result I was going for. I actually used about 2 lbs tomatoes, 1/4 cup minced onion, and a few tablespoons olive oil - but kept the basil and garlic the same. Also added crushed red pepper flakes and a little parsley & oregano. It turned out great; so fresh and delicious. I served it plain over whole wheat penne the first time and for the leftovers I mixed in cooked Italian sausage and shredded mozzarella. Super yummy. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I added a small can of tomato sauce. Also, cut onion in chunks along with red and green pepper chunks. Made a "Chunky Tomato Basil Sauce."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS--with only a few changes: sauteed one stalk celery and 1/2 a bell pepper along with the onion [i used 1 1/2 onions] and garlic. I put the sauteed veg in my crock pot with the peeled and chopped tomatoes [probably 8-10 lbs], salt and pepper, and about a Tbls of sugar. Cooked about two hrs. on high, then added about 1/2 cup chopped fresh basil and 2-3 Tbls chopped fresh oregano. Decreased heat to low and cooked another 4 hrs. Makes a perfect basic sauce. Next time I plan to make it spicier with the addition of some red pepper flakes and a few Tbls of worchestershire sauce--YUMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by watergirl40

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Haughton, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
This was amazing after several tweeks! Here is my more flavorful version: 6 large tomatoes (left seeds and peels in tact for nutrients and fibre). 1 large onion, 6 cloves of garlic, 1/4 fresh basil, 1/3 cup of olive oil, 1/4 cup dry white wine, 1 Tbsp of fresh chives chopped, 1/8 tsp of fresh cilantor chopped, 1 Tbsp of salsa, 1 tsp of italian seasoning, 1 1/2 tsp of sugar (to reduce acidity), 2/3 tsp salt, fresh ground pepper, 1/4 tsp cayenne. Dice the tomatoes in 1/3 cup of olive oil, then add the fried onions/garlic, then add remaining spices and ingredients and cook for 2 hrs on low. If you dont like chunky sauces you can puree it in a blender (or for medium consistency then puree half the sauce and mix the rest in after) This sauce was devine!! For an extra little jazz... you can also add roasted red peppers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EyeDoc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I had 3 large ziploc bags of frozen tomatoes and thought I would try this. Delicious!! I dunked the whole frozen tomato in hot water, removed the skin and put them all in the crock pot for several hours. After they cooked down, I removed a good deal (about 4 cups) of excess water, ground them up and followed the recipe as written. Even though I didn't bother to seed the tomatos this still came out terrific. thanks MINDIM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
This is truely a great recipie. I added different spices for my family's taste. Will never buy sauce again...Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I made this sauce in advance for a birthday dinner. When it was ready, I tasted it and it was good, but by the next day when I served it, the sauce had turned quite acidic and tangy, and I wished I had added more sugar before serving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Easy! I didn't have 8 lbs of tomatoes, so I made up the difference with green peppers, carrots and celery that were in the fridge. Threw it into the crock pot while I went off to do errands. The house smelt divine when I came home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States