Fresh Tomato Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Simple, quick and easy. My kids (8 and 10 years old) hate tomatoes but loved this sauce!! I made this with cherry tomatoes from the garden since my slicing tomatoes weren't ripe yet. Also, I only had to cook the sauce for about 10 mins on simmer, it still turned out delicious. I crushed up the tomatoes with a potato masher just so it left them slightly chunky. I served the sauce on top of a lean baked chicken breast and they came back begging for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmilyBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Living In: Parkdale, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I have continued to make this sauce for a couple years now. Today I used 8 small cherry tomatoes, fresh onion and garlic, extra virgin olive oil, thyme, dill weed, salt, pepper, basil, and butter - this was amazing on just regular spagetti noodles. This recipe is so easy to modify but never is disappointing!!!! It would be hard to mess this up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Simons

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
First homemade fresh tomato sauce I have made. My family loved it just the way it is written. Someone else noted this was far better than any jarred sauce, frankly, I think it blows off canned tomato sauce doctored up too. Even my Italian girl friend who makes a great sauce herself said she was impressed at the flavor for such a simple recipe. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I use this recipe all the time to use up tomatoes from the garden. The only thing I do differently is I cut the tomatoes up in chunks and cook them down on low for about 3 hrs then I run them through a food mill to puree' them then I add them to the onion, garlic mixture. I also add a tsp of brown sugar to get rid of some of the acidity. As stated in the blurp at the top of the recipe this is def. a late summer delight! Thanks Mindim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
followed other directions and blanched, then used the ninja to smooth it all out. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I had some large funky looking tomatoes from our garden - way too many to eat! This recipe is easy and delicious. I did not peel or seed my tomatoes but did cut off some of the skin as I was dicing them to cook. I added about a T. of sugar when I seasoned and used my immersion blender to smooth it out some. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This is an extremely easy recipe that yields a lot of product, but in my opinion very little flavor. I think maybe we need to add the basil in LATER? And probably a lot more basil for the amount of sauce we're making here. I was kind of bummed for the amount of work and time it took to complete - I've been to Italy and I love tomato & basil... I was really loooking forward to this, and let down flavorwise in the end :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trey's Mumma

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This sauce is a hit I add sun dried tomatoes in a olive oil drained and use a stick blender to smooth it out. Use it on a variety of dishes ..great flavor with little work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Made this with half yellow pear tomatoes and was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States