Fresh Tomato Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I used my dad's garden tomatoes for this recipe - nothing like fresh, organic ingredients! I stuck to the recipe except for a few additions. I added Italian seasoning, oregano, and some leftover pesto in place of basil (pesto is a Northern Italian pasta sauce made with basil, garlic, and olive oil). I also only simmered it for about half an hour. The product was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I slivered the garlic very finely and cooked it in the olive oil prior to adding the tomatoes. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa A. Sharples

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This was fantastic... I just wish that I would've waited to add the basil until the last 30 minutes of simmering. The smell and taste of the basil went away completely after simmering the whole time, but it smelled and tasted sooooo good before that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This is what it is, a fresh tomato basil sauce. It's good, but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Followed recipe exactly with fresh tomatoes from the garden,except used 5 garlic cloves, added oregano, pepper and a bay leaf. Simmered for 2 hours as per recipe, not sure why, as it cooked down much quicker and although sauce was very runny, it was very flavorful. I think I would add organic tomato paste to thicken it up. I added a lot of finely grated parmesan cheese and mixed it in my own plate, as I just felt something was missing. Used more parmesan than I normally would, but I think that was because of the thinness of the sauce. Overall, tasty, great way to use your tomatoes from garden, just tweak to your liking. I have leftovers and will be adding tomato paste and meatballs to tomorrow's portion. Almost 5 stars, just needs to be thicker and and more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I loved this recipe. I had my daughters go and pick every last tomato we had on the vine, since the temperatures are getting pretty cold now in Michigan. Fall is here. I had 3 large yellow tomatoes and 8 little red tomatoes, plus one small green pepper. so I boiled water dropped tomatoes in let them cook about 5 mins. or so. just so I could get the skins off, then dropped the tomatoes and that little green pepper in my Ninja blender with along with a fist full of fresh basil from my garden. In a deep fry pan, I dumped 1/2 cup of Xtra virgin olive oil, then added 1 large onion diced, 8 garlic cloves diced, and 1 easpoon of sugar, then sauteed them on med. heat until onions were kinda transparent. Then poured the tomato mixture from my blender in with and let cook 1 hour. Added salt, pepper and a touch of garlic powder at the end. Served over spaghetti and it was fresh, fabulous and incredibly delicious and easy. You must try it. Add any meat if you want,but it is beautiful and full flavored enough as is. Thank you for this fantastic recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharene-Iowa Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Made this one for the first time after trying two other tomato sauce recipes (that didn't turn out as well as I thought they would). This one is the winner! I'm not sure if I had three pounds of tomatoes, nor am I sure if it's supposed to weight 3 lbs after seeding them, but I had a bunch of them from my crop share (along with fresh basil) and wanted to get rid of them. I also made it using a slow cooker on low and left it over night. It smells absolutely divine and I can't wait to have it for dinner tonight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petitemousie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
It is good, very good . I made from local fresh Roma tomatoes. I peeled but did not seed the tomatoes. the local tomatoes are not as sweet as some, so I had to a couple of pinches of sugar and salt to taste. Other than that i made according to the recipe. I used 2 3/4 lb tomatoes and got a quart of sauce. Next time we make a larger quantity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Great fresh flavor. Will be making more and will try adding some red wine as suggested by others. Did not peel or seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JEAN R
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This has been a wonderful way to preserve the bumper crop of tomatoes hubby produced this year. To make it simple (and to use the whole tomato) I just wash, stem, half, and then purée in the blender for a few seconds. Then I let it simmer on the stove along with the onion and garlic until it cooks down. That can take 2-4 hours. Like others have said, add the basil at the end. We freeze in quart zip lock bags for use all winter. Hubby likes it measured -- two cups to a bag. Thanks so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States