Fresh Tomato Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Great fresh flavor. Will be making more and will try adding some red wine as suggested by others. Did not peel or seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JEAN R
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This has been a wonderful way to preserve the bumper crop of tomatoes hubby produced this year. To make it simple (and to use the whole tomato) I just wash, stem, half, and then purée in the blender for a few seconds. Then I let it simmer on the stove along with the onion and garlic until it cooks down. That can take 2-4 hours. Like others have said, add the basil at the end. We freeze in quart zip lock bags for use all winter. Hubby likes it measured -- two cups to a bag. Thanks so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
4 stars because I added about 1.5c of dry white wine to the recipe, and feel like if I hadn't it would have been a little bland. I also used white AND red onion and a bunch of other fresh herbs. Other than that, though, great recipe! It needed about 2hr to cook down to a thickness I liked, and was like a marinara in texture. I also added lemon juice to engage the natural pectin in the tomatoes to make it thicken more quickly without having to use tomato paste. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
DELISH! simple, and so flavoursome. I LOVE THIS SAUCE. I didn't QUITE have 8lbs tomato, so I made up the diff with 2 or 3 capsicum. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Yum! I added zucchini & 2T sugar. Seeing as it's the dead of winter, I can only imagine how wonderfully sweet this will be with fresh, home-grown tomatoes. I did not seed the toms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I made this tonight as a sauce for our Chicken Parmesan and it was delicious. We doubled the recipe and had plenty of sauce left over for pasta later on this week. It was perfect. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Delicious, perfect application for my Roma tomatoes. Really good recipe. I added a little sugar, to neutralize the acidity also. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This is the perfect recipe for our summer influx of garden tomatoes. I like to add a bit of crushed red pepper flake to my onions about a minute before I combine it with the tomatoes for a little heat. Excellent sauce for eggplant parm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Delicious. Very simple. I got 22 pounds of "second" tomatoes at the local farmers market for $8. It took a long time to seed and peel all of these tomatoes. I decided to make the sauce smooth, so I put the tomatoes in the blender after seeding and peeling. I didn't get enough water out, so it took close to 3 hours to get the right constancy. You can add a can or 2 of tomato paste to thicken it up. I ended up with a little more than 1 gallon of finished sauce; used some for dinner divided up the rest into quart freezer bags and froze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This is amazing! I didn't seed or peel the tomatoes and used more garlic and basil but otherwise it was perfect! Gotta try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States