Fresh Tasting Black Beans With Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
My husband and I eat a version of this meal at least once a week (we started several years ago when I was still in college). Although I don't use cilantro or lemon juice, I usually do add some cumin and garlic to the beans. I make a big sticky pot of white rice and stir the beans (and all of the juice) into the rice. Sometimes we'll grill some chicken breasts on the Foreman, cut it into strips and mix them in as well. We top with salsa, cheese, and sour cream. Makes a great burrito filling, too! A filling, healthy (a few ounces of black beans has 10 times the antioxidents as the same amount of blueberries!), and tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
Sounded too bland for us so, I sauted an onion in about 2 tbls. butter until soft then added the black bean juice and enough water to make 2 cups liquid. For my spices I added chili powder, cayenne pepper, garlic, cilantro, and cumin. (No lemon juice) Brought all that to a boil, added 2 cups rice. Cooked 20 minutes. Once the rice was cooked I added the black beans and cooked spicy link sausage. I think it would also be great with chicken or shrimp. Mine was pretty spicy, but everyone asked me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
Pass around a bottle of good red wine vinegar and a bowl of finely chopped onions to add a little extra spark. Loved the beans without the extras too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
I made this with my own little twists. I used fresh cilantro and garlic. I also used lime juice instead of lemon. I also added some cayenne pepper for an extra little zing! I'd say it was pretty good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Richton Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
This recipe was really good, but it needed a lot of tweaking I also sauteed the onions with butter and garlic, while cooking the rice. Then I drained the beans, and added everything to a pan, and had it on top of the stove for a while. While doing that I added a little celery, cilantro, and parsley. It came out pretty good, but I forgot to spice it up so everyone added hot sauce, which also worked out b/c everyone likes it at different levels of hotness. Will make again, and was pretty good, but I think it will be a "nothing else to make" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wharton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Netcong, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
This truly is an easy recipe, although I would go easy on the cilantro next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
As is, I didn't care for it... very bland and unappealing. I made it again, but this time omitted the lemon juice, cilantra, and garlic-- instead I added 2 packets of Goya Sazon and some black bean salsa, which improved it somewhat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN78RN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
I found this recipe to be quite good after a bit of tweaking. There was no meat thawed for dinner, it was a rainy day, and I was pressed for time. I prepped my rice in a rice cooker, used Tony Chachere's Original Creole Seasoning instead of garlic powder, added some diced Vlasic Roasted Red Sweet Peppers, fresh lemon juice, and a teaspoon of bacon drippings. I went easy on the Cilantro, too. I added more water as it was warming up and let it simmer down. Good stuff! I bet it'll taste even better later. Thanks, gypsy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I love recipes that call for ingredients I have in the house without having to run to the store. The fact that its a healthy recipes is even better. Now combine this with good taste and I'm in. I added a bit of grated cheese when it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHARONN
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
We enjoyed this dish with just a couple of changes. I cooked the rice in vegetable broth, used fresh cilantro instead of dried along with some fresh parsley, and also added 1/2 tsp. each of cumin and turmeric. I also had sauteed some chopped onion and garlic in the pan before adding the rice and beans. Served it in whole wheat wraps, with sour cream and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States