Fresh Tasting Black Beans With Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
My husband is from Brazil and he loved this! I may use as many fresh ingredients as I can next time, but now I have a go to for a simple black beans and rice recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I use minced garlic, 1 T, rather than powder, and 2 T meundu mix in the water to cook with the rice, and do not use dried cilantro. Use significantly less lemon juice (1.5 T) and less beans for more of a rice mixed/beans. Use fresh cilantro once complete. With edits, becomes side dish one night, left overs go into tacos the following.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Changed this to my family's tastes. Cooked the rice in the bean juice and chicken broth with garlic and onion. Then added the beans at the end. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This is quick and pretty good...but bland. I'd put tomato sauce on it for flavor if I made it again. Chile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klineellie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Spring Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
As an "emergency-meal" I liked it. After a trip to the supermarket I'll probably add chopped tomatoes, diced red onion, and fresh cilantro. And definitely fresh lime juice rather than lemon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gardner, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I was not int this dish. The garlic powder is overpowering and the whole meal has a very flat flavour overall. My husband doesn't like cilantro, so I substituted parsley - maybe that was a game-changer. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I love recipes that call for ingredients I have in the house without having to run to the store. The fact that its a healthy recipes is even better. Now combine this with good taste and I'm in. I added a bit of grated cheese when it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I thought this was pretty good but yeah in a pinch not bad and filling which is all that counts, good with a can of tomatoes too, juice included.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Photo by SHARONN
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
We enjoyed this dish with just a couple of changes. I cooked the rice in vegetable broth, used fresh cilantro instead of dried along with some fresh parsley, and also added 1/2 tsp. each of cumin and turmeric. I also had sauteed some chopped onion and garlic in the pan before adding the rice and beans. Served it in whole wheat wraps, with sour cream and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Easy to make, but definitely could use some onion. It also lacks the amount of oregano in the ingredient list; and oregano is an interesting spice choice. I also added corn, and served it with cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States