Fresh Tasting Black Beans With Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I love recipes that call for ingredients I have in the house without having to run to the store. The fact that its a healthy recipes is even better. Now combine this with good taste and I'm in. I added a bit of grated cheese when it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I use minced garlic, 1 T, rather than powder, and 2 T meundu mix in the water to cook with the rice, and do not use dried cilantro. Use significantly less lemon juice (1.5 T) and less beans for more of a rice mixed/beans. Use fresh cilantro once complete. With edits, becomes side dish one night, left overs go into tacos the following.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
My husband is from Brazil and he loved this! I may use as many fresh ingredients as I can next time, but now I have a go to for a simple black beans and rice recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
Sounded too bland for us so, I sauted an onion in about 2 tbls. butter until soft then added the black bean juice and enough water to make 2 cups liquid. For my spices I added chili powder, cayenne pepper, garlic, cilantro, and cumin. (No lemon juice) Brought all that to a boil, added 2 cups rice. Cooked 20 minutes. Once the rice was cooked I added the black beans and cooked spicy link sausage. I think it would also be great with chicken or shrimp. Mine was pretty spicy, but everyone asked me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
My husband and I eat a version of this meal at least once a week (we started several years ago when I was still in college). Although I don't use cilantro or lemon juice, I usually do add some cumin and garlic to the beans. I make a big sticky pot of white rice and stir the beans (and all of the juice) into the rice. Sometimes we'll grill some chicken breasts on the Foreman, cut it into strips and mix them in as well. We top with salsa, cheese, and sour cream. Makes a great burrito filling, too! A filling, healthy (a few ounces of black beans has 10 times the antioxidents as the same amount of blueberries!), and tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
Pass around a bottle of good red wine vinegar and a bowl of finely chopped onions to add a little extra spark. Loved the beans without the extras too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Very quick and easy! It was a little bland, though. Next time I would spice it up with a little hot sauce and maybe some lime juice. I made this dish just as the recipe directed, but next time (and there will be a next time as it was so easy) I will definately make some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Changed this to my family's tastes. Cooked the rice in the bean juice and chicken broth with garlic and onion. Then added the beans at the end. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
As an "emergency-meal" I liked it. After a trip to the supermarket I'll probably add chopped tomatoes, diced red onion, and fresh cilantro. And definitely fresh lime juice rather than lemon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gardner, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
This recipe was really good, but it needed a lot of tweaking I also sauteed the onions with butter and garlic, while cooking the rice. Then I drained the beans, and added everything to a pan, and had it on top of the stove for a while. While doing that I added a little celery, cilantro, and parsley. It came out pretty good, but I forgot to spice it up so everyone added hot sauce, which also worked out b/c everyone likes it at different levels of hotness. Will make again, and was pretty good, but I think it will be a "nothing else to make" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wharton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Netcong, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States