Fresh Sweet Corn Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Loved these. Granted there isn't much flavor, but with syrup on it, it was just right. We want to make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
These are awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I made a few changes: used half&half rather than heavy cream, and used brown sugar IN the batter as I have no idea what is cane syrup. It was bland, however I prefer bland, and just the right amount of sweet for me(1 T brown sugar to the recipe). I could see how the addition of cayenne or other spice could add to it, and do nicely, but like another reviewer, have no idea if corn fritters are SUPPOSED to be bland. But it had a very nice corn flavor. I also fried in just a 1/4 inch depth mix of crisco/bacon grease rather than a whole bottle of cooking oil. Cook just like pancakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I used leftover sweetcorn from last night which was quite sweet but these fritters had little flavor. I sprinkled with sea salt and offered them with honey but my family all said they preferred my corn muffins to these. As with any type of frying, I had quite a bit of oil to dispose of, so these really seemed a waste. We still have quite a few leftover and they are likely going to be too soft for eating tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I had left over corn and wanted to try something new. I have never had a corn fritter & I found this recipe. I felt it was very bland and not sweet at all. My husband eats everything and I usually don't have left overs. I have a whole dish left but the one he tried. Since, I never had one if they are supposed to taste bland please ignore this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
First time I made these. I was looking for something to do with corn other than just butter...and this was a huge hit. We have decided to make is a staple in our family Thanksgivings from here on out! Thanks...Oh, we added just a little Ground Red Pepper...it added a little southern kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle Jajo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
delicious!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
EASY. This is a light and fluffy batter. Love the ease of preparation. Can easily prepare this batter as a sweet or savory fritter. A little bland, so add your seasonings accordingly. Not a big fan of the corn--I think it is a texture thing, but apple season is near. I will add a little sugar and vanilla. Dust with powdered sugar. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swartz Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This was a spur of the moment cooking experiment, so I didn't have fresh corn on hand. I opted for a can. I don't think one can was enough corn, I prefer more veggie than breading. This is a great afternoon snack or lunch food. Reheats well. I do not think 3inches of oil is necessary, I chose to do a half inch and they cooked perfectly. I'm definitely a savory girl, so I recommend 1-2 tsp of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I hadn't had corn fritters since I was a kid so when I had a few extra ears of corn from the garden I found this recipe and couldn't wait to fry them up. I cut the recipe in 1/2 for just my husband and I and it was plenty. I didn't have heavy whipping cream but I didn't let that stop me - I used 1/2% milk, which I had on hand. I am more of a savory type of gal and didn't use the cane syrup but instead sprinkled the fritters with salt. These turned out nice and fluffy on the inside and crispy on the outside. The corn lent the perfect amount of sweetness for us to this recipe. They are best right out of the pan - if they sit they will soften fairly quickly but will still be tasty. Three ears of corn measures 1-1/2 cups of kernels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States