Fresh Sweet Corn Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I hadn't had corn fritters since I was a kid so when I had a few extra ears of corn from the garden I found this recipe and couldn't wait to fry them up. I cut the recipe in 1/2 for just my husband and I and it was plenty. I didn't have heavy whipping cream but I didn't let that stop me - I used 1/2% milk, which I had on hand. I am more of a savory type of gal and didn't use the cane syrup but instead sprinkled the fritters with salt. These turned out nice and fluffy on the inside and crispy on the outside. The corn lent the perfect amount of sweetness for us to this recipe. They are best right out of the pan - if they sit they will soften fairly quickly but will still be tasty. Three ears of corn measures 1-1/2 cups of kernels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
First time I made these. I was looking for something to do with corn other than just butter...and this was a huge hit. We have decided to make is a staple in our family Thanksgivings from here on out! Thanks...Oh, we added just a little Ground Red Pepper...it added a little southern kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaTrice Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This was a spur of the moment cooking experiment, so I didn't have fresh corn on hand. I opted for a can. I don't think one can was enough corn, I prefer more veggie than breading. This is a great afternoon snack or lunch food. Reheats well. I do not think 3inches of oil is necessary, I chose to do a half inch and they cooked perfectly. I'm definitely a savory girl, so I recommend 1-2 tsp of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
SWEET!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Well, I blew the recipe and they were a bit soggy but that's fully on me. Behind the damage I did, I could taste how great they would've been!! On top of soggy on the inside, they were burnt on the outside... and were still great!! I will do these again because I'm sure done right, they're little chunks of corny heaven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
EASY. This is a light and fluffy batter. Love the ease of preparation. Can easily prepare this batter as a sweet or savory fritter. A little bland, so add your seasonings accordingly. Not a big fan of the corn--I think it is a texture thing, but apple season is near. I will add a little sugar and vanilla. Dust with powdered sugar. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swartz Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I made a few changes: used half&half rather than heavy cream, and used brown sugar IN the batter as I have no idea what is cane syrup. It was bland, however I prefer bland, and just the right amount of sweet for me(1 T brown sugar to the recipe). I could see how the addition of cayenne or other spice could add to it, and do nicely, but like another reviewer, have no idea if corn fritters are SUPPOSED to be bland. But it had a very nice corn flavor. I also fried in just a 1/4 inch depth mix of crisco/bacon grease rather than a whole bottle of cooking oil. Cook just like pancakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I used leftover sweetcorn from last night which was quite sweet but these fritters had little flavor. I sprinkled with sea salt and offered them with honey but my family all said they preferred my corn muffins to these. As with any type of frying, I had quite a bit of oil to dispose of, so these really seemed a waste. We still have quite a few leftover and they are likely going to be too soft for eating tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimberly
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
These were a hit with my family. I cut the recipe in half and it was plenty for four people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
A great way to use up leftover sweet corn on the cob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Jamie's Sweet and Easy Corn on the Cob

Quick and easy recipe for boiled corn.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States