Fresh Summer Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Wow! I had never thought of adding rhubarb to fruit salad. In fact, I'm one of those people who think fruit salad should have no dressing at all, but I've just changed my mind. The rhubarb is not very sweet, and it gives just a hnt of tartness to the fruit. Great combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Excellent! If you can't find fresh rhubarb, consider looking in the freezer section. I used fresh-frozen rhubarb & the sauce was as good as fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Iowa, USA
Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
So good and easy! I made just a few changes on the fruit I used (to use what was more in season) Otherwise followed the recipe and it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I tried this with a lot of doubts. The only reason I make a sauce for fruit salad is to prevent browning, and I was out of some ingredients for my usual sauce. I was skeptical as to whether or not it really would prevent fruit from browning, the taste, and the texture of mashed rhubarb. Well, it did an excellent job of preventing browning, the texture was actually really good, and the taste... Well, over half of the people I served it to said it was the best fruit salad they had tasted! I cooked the rhubarb according to recipe, and poured it over a nice mix of in season fruits. I poured in enough rhubarb sauce to nicely cover the fruit but not enough for it to really collect in the bottom. Then I used the rest of the sauce over waffles the next morning!! Amazing, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I didn't like the color it gave the salad and it got very soggy in the fridge. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
This was pretty good but I didn't think the crunchiness of the apple went well with the other textures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I used fruit that was in season. This sauce was excellent! I also added a bit of mint. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
This is the best fruit salad ever! The rhubarb sauce is what puts it over the top. I would not say it is easy, but it is definitely worth every minute. This takes the "boring" out of fruit salads. I made this for 25+ people and over shot the quantity I needed and had people standing in line to take some home. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States