Fresh Strawberry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This cake is awesome!!! I've made it twice now. The first time I made it it was for my boyfriends Mom's birthday!!! Talk about pressure!!! I made backup cupcakes in case the cake didn't turn out well. NO ONE TOUCHED THE CUPCAKES! Everyone LOVED this cake! I made it exactly as directed and it was awesome. I used a non stick baking pan and made sure to let it cool for twenty minutes before turning over on to a serving dish. I served slightly warm with French Vanilla ice cream and today my boyfriend and his sister requested it for dessert and once again it was great! Thank You for the great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minxx

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
LOVE THIS CAKE!!!! It was so easy and delicious! I didn’t have any mini marshmallows so I cut up some of the big ones. I also used Strawberry Crush soda instead of water in the cake mix. I thought it would add more strawberry flavor to the cake. I know that I will make this cake again soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meomaja

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
This is delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and it came out great. I'll be making this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARMIK124

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jmari
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
this was so good... yummy the only thing is that i couldn't really taste the marshmallows but overall it was really good =) .. .thank for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jmari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I made this cake for Mother's Day as well. Everyone loved it. I was a little nervous turning it upside down but I did it and it looked perfect. I will be making this again but I'm going to try Bannana Cake mix. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Super delicious! I was surprised at how the marshmallows combine with the cake mix and you cant really tell they are in the ingredients once its cooked. I expected this to be overly sweet but it wasnt! I used fresh strawberries that I sliced into thin strips. Next time I will add more strawberries though, not enough for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aurah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I had some fresh strawberries to use up and found this recipe...made this cake exactly as written and yummy! I definitely will be making this again and again. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrashGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phelan, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This was super easy and super great! An awesome way to use up those in-season strawberries. My husband raved! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YOYO78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hermitage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This cake turned out BEAUTIFULLY. This was my first attempt at an upside down cake and I am so pleased with the result. I made a chocolate ganache and dipped the extra strawberries in it for the side. Then I drizzled a thin amount of the ganache lightly over the cake. Thank you for the recipe; my family and I love it. I will be sure to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ahiru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I made this cake for "my Mother's Day" dessert and it was wonderful! Since it was for a special occasion and the first time I tried the recipe, I did not try to turn it out of the pan. Nervous it wouldn't come out right. lol Just chilled it and cut it and we topped it with aerosol can whipping cream. YUMMY! Will be making this cake many more times for special meals, since this family does not need the calories or sugar. Thanks so much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hebbronville, Texas, USA
Living In: Freer, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 535) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Fresh Strawberry Granita

Turn fresh strawberries into an impressive and simple frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States