Fresh Strawberry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
OK, first of all. OMG, this cake was SO good. I just got done making it, not only is it freakin' gorgeous as it is fresh out of the oven, it -tastes- amazing. It's moist and delicious. The jello trickling throughout the cake was awesome. I'm totally in love with this recipe. It's incredibly simple too! I made a few changes ONLY and only because I really wanted to try this and didn't have exactly what you called for. I replaced your strawberries with frozen (thawed) strawberry slices I had on hand. I also didn't have strawberry jello, I used what I did have; Raspberry. I love how this cake has marshmallows in it. I wasn't sure how that was going to turn out but as it is, it adds crunch when you're not expecting it. Sooooo yummy. This cake was again, super easy to make and loads of fun. Each step from placing the strawberries to pouring the cake batter was neat. I smiled the whole time in excitement to try this cake. I just had the first piece and I give you 5 stars. :) Thank you for sharing this with the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
293 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Took to a potluck and got lots of requests for the recipe. Easy to make, quick except for baking time, not to expensive. Will definetly make again and next time I may add a can of drained crushed or tidbit pineapple to the strawberries. I used a glass casserole dish and it stuck pretty good so I just left it in the dish and served with a large spoon, it looked yummy. Would be great served warm ala mode. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This cake is awesome!!! I've made it twice now. The first time I made it it was for my boyfriends Mom's birthday!!! Talk about pressure!!! I made backup cupcakes in case the cake didn't turn out well. NO ONE TOUCHED THE CUPCAKES! Everyone LOVED this cake! I made it exactly as directed and it was awesome. I used a non stick baking pan and made sure to let it cool for twenty minutes before turning over on to a serving dish. I served slightly warm with French Vanilla ice cream and today my boyfriend and his sister requested it for dessert and once again it was great! Thank You for the great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minxx

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jmari
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
this was so good... yummy the only thing is that i couldn't really taste the marshmallows but overall it was really good =) .. .thank for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jmari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Super delicious! I was surprised at how the marshmallows combine with the cake mix and you cant really tell they are in the ingredients once its cooked. I expected this to be overly sweet but it wasnt! I used fresh strawberries that I sliced into thin strips. Next time I will add more strawberries though, not enough for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aurah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This cake turned out BEAUTIFULLY. This was my first attempt at an upside down cake and I am so pleased with the result. I made a chocolate ganache and dipped the extra strawberries in it for the side. Then I drizzled a thin amount of the ganache lightly over the cake. Thank you for the recipe; my family and I love it. I will be sure to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ahiru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This was super easy and super great! An awesome way to use up those in-season strawberries. My husband raved! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YOYO78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hermitage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I had some fresh strawberries to use up and found this recipe...made this cake exactly as written and yummy! I definitely will be making this again and again. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrashGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phelan, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Really tasted good. It seemed a little too moist but honestly no one gave it a chance to cool so I don't know if it would have set up enough to invert or not! I guess it doesn't matter since everyone enjoyed it so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly. It looked and smelled excellent, the cake part baked very nicely. The whole thing came out of the pan perfectly. Too bad the stawberry part came out as a layer of rubber. People ate their pieces, but no one wanted seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mandan, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 533) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Fresh Strawberry Granita

Turn fresh strawberries into an impressive and simple frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States