Fresh Strawberry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I LOVE this recipe! Have made it several times and it is always a hit! The one think I do is add a couple of teaspoons of brown sugar to the berries while I prep the cake and ever since the 2nd time I've used lemon cake mix...just like strawberry lemonade. :) I also have used different flavors of jello (whatever is on hand) and actually have used unflavored the last time and will again this time as I forgot to buy the jello. It will still be fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I've made this twice now this summer and everyone LOVES it! Thanks so much for sharing - no changes were made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This was a great recipe! Grown-ups and kids alike love it. I made it with a combination of Strawberries and blueberries for a Memorial Day cake and today, I am making it for the 4th of July with blackberries and strawberries. My only complaint with the recipe is probably my own doing - the center of the cake didn't cook through very well, so when I make it today, I will do it in 2 round pans instead of the big 9x13. I am hoping that solves my issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Cara Lewis Hampton
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This cake is fun and easy to make and it is soooooo scrumptious! I was worried that it would stick to the pan, but I let it cool for the recommended 20 mins and it came out fine. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara Lewis Hampton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I just made this last night and brought in to work... Absolutely fantastic!! My coworkers devoured the whole cake in less than an hour! I used 3 cups total of strawberries and 1/2 cup more marshmallows based off of some other reviews here. Definitely will be put into my "favorites" cookbook! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Love this cake, have made it a few times now, I have Celiac and cannot tolerate gluten, so I used a gluten free yellow cake mix, turned out great, I also used 3oz of strawberry gelatin, and have added dry cook and serve pudding (I did not really notice a difference, but may add extra jell) last time I made it I forgot the marshmallows, so maybe the pudding was a good idea that time;-) ... anyway it was also great without the marshmallows, maybe a little more tartness, which I liked! Have one in the oven now with Raspberry pie filling and chocolate cake... we'll see LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
This was delicious! I used a bundt pan, so I cut back a bit on the gelatin mix and marshmallows (just eyeballed both). I chopped up a whole pkg. of strawberried and then lightly crushed them w/ my potato masher...worked perfectly! Great flavor and we didn't find it 'artificial' at all. Will def make this again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
This was very good, moist and extremely easy to make...The family Loved It!!!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine A. Jimenez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Hudson, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
This was yum. I suggest using raspberry Jello, rather than strawberry to minimize any imitation strawberry taste. I used a white cake mix (Duncan Hines Pudding in the Mix) and it was very moist and tasty. I understand what people are saying about a "rubbery" consistency, but that goes away if you warm it slightly , which makes it perfect for a la mode! Super easy, and I even subbed a few frozen strawberries because I was short on fresh ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MKCB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Nice on a hot summer day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 560) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States