Fresh Strawberry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I thought this cake was delicious. The fresh strawberries made it all the better. Used strawberry banana jello instead of strawberry because it was all that I had. Tasted great. Very moist. (Also used butter cake instead of yellow cake mix)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Thought that the cake was good however if I try it again I will cut back on the jello to the smaller box
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrey Elliott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Romeoville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Thomaston, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I made this twice. We didn't care for it. Traditional strawberry shortcake is much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
very very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
My kids and I made this tonight. I took other reviews and used 3 oz of gelatin. I also added a little sugar to strawberries while I made the cake to bring out more juice. My cake cooked in 30 min. Kids really liked and so did I. We added whip cream to top. Could not really taste the marshmellows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYLEO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This is a keeper for my family. Everyone loved it!! I made the recipe as written except I added extra strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blair, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I made this cake last night and it was DELICIOUS! Easy to make, very moist, light and flavorful. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I just made this for a fussy crowd & it was beyond a hit! I was very Leary about putting on so much strawberry gelatin and I'm not a marshmallow fan but I followed the recipe exactly anyway. It's a keeper! I also took a suggestion of cutting the cake in half for a layer cake and covering well with cool whip. I added halved strawberries on the top for decoration and it was beautiful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cape May, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
this was an excellent and easy to make cake! I made one for valentines day and my husband and I ended up eating the whole thing ourselves....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raphiesmine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zz827
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
We love this cake! I made this for my husbands picky eater cousin's birthday. We couldn't stop eating it. Everyone loved it!!! Even my husband who doesn't like to eat sweets. He said this is the best cake I've ever made =) I read the other reviews and followed a few of their suggestions. I only used 3 oz. package of the strawberry gelatin mix. After I crushed the fresh strawberries with a fork, I put it in a bowl, added a tablespoon of sugar and all of the 3 oz. gelatin mix. I let it sit while I made the cake mix. I used buttercake and it was delish! I also used parchment paper so I didn't have a problem transferring it on a serving tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zz827

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 538) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States