Fresh Strawberry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Easy and really good topped with cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I was alittle disappointed in this cake...not enough strawberries, but perhaps I should have measured the strawberries after I crushed them not before? Perhaps I will try again with more (or other fruit) and maybe even try a chocolate cake mix. I was interested to see another similar recipe on this site with same ingredients but reversed directions (marshmallows on bottom of pan, cake mix in the middle and strawberries on top...and the cake reverses itself in the oven!) Might try that too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I made this last night to use up some strawberries. I brought it to my husband's work straight out of the oven and it was completely gone before the pan even cooled. I'd call that a success! I don't usually care for box cakes but this recipe improved the taste tremendously. The only thing I changed was the flavor of Jello. I only had cherry on hand but I think it added a nice tartness that balanced perfectly will the sweet cake and ripe strawberries. The marshmallows added that chewy, crunchy edge and bottom. YUM! Will definitely make this again and play around with different flavor combos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsValentine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Very good cake! I made homemade whipped cream to go with it, but I think it tasted good even without it. I used 2 pounds of strawberries, smashed well. Followed the directions exactly. 45 min of bake time in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I half the jello mix like many others suggested. This is an awesome cake, comes out so moist. Fabulous with whip cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Very good. Better when eaten the following day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
So quick and easy! The small ingredient list makes it nice because all of these items are already stocked in the house. Nice to make at the last minute for company. I auctioned this off at the church bake sale last year and the highest bid was $32. Nobody even knew it was from a boxed cake mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I've had this recipe in my box for quite awhile anticipating it. I was disappointed. My SIL said it best..."it tastes like strawberry jam on cake" would have been better off just making a poke cake. It was edible, but nothing special. It was just as pretty as the picture and came out of the pan perfectly. I served it slightly warm and with vanilla ice cream as suggested...still, it was no ones' favorite and we all love strawberries. It wasn't a hit with our family. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
YUMMY YUMMY YUMMY! Super simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
The flavor is good, but didn't care for the presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 517) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Fresh Strawberry Granita

A gorgeous and simple frozen strawberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States