Fresh Strawberry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Could't believe it worked but it did. Used pineapple upside down cake mix instead of yellow cake. Wonderful combo...thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I used Duncan Hines Pineapple supreme cake mix and added a large can of crushed pineapple drained to the Strawberries, to make the 2 cups needed. I used tropical flavored jello 3 oz size. When making the cake mix I use the juice from the pineapple in the cake mix instead of the water. I made it in a 9 x 13 cut it in half to make a layer cake and frosted the sides and in between the layers with a whipped cream frosting. Absolutely delicious! Will make this a again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This cake was so easy to make and turned out absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klgd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
The recipe as is gets 3 stars because it seemed too sweet & messy flipping on the platter. I will try again though using a 3 oz package of jello.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This is a GREAT cake made as is. Next time making it use blackberries with blackberry jello or my absolute favorite is raspberries with raspberry jello. Tonight I'm going to try fresh yellow peaches and peach jello. This cake never fails and it is quick, easy and amazingly good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I LOVE this recipe! Have made it several times and it is always a hit! The one think I do is add a couple of teaspoons of brown sugar to the berries while I prep the cake and ever since the 2nd time I've used lemon cake mix...just like strawberry lemonade. :) I also have used different flavors of jello (whatever is on hand) and actually have used unflavored the last time and will again this time as I forgot to buy the jello. It will still be fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I've made this twice now this summer and everyone LOVES it! Thanks so much for sharing - no changes were made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This was a great recipe! Grown-ups and kids alike love it. I made it with a combination of Strawberries and blueberries for a Memorial Day cake and today, I am making it for the 4th of July with blackberries and strawberries. My only complaint with the recipe is probably my own doing - the center of the cake didn't cook through very well, so when I make it today, I will do it in 2 round pans instead of the big 9x13. I am hoping that solves my issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Pumpkyn
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This cake is fun and easy to make and it is soooooo scrumptious! I was worried that it would stick to the pan, but I let it cool for the recommended 20 mins and it came out fine. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pumpkyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I just made this last night and brought in to work... Absolutely fantastic!! My coworkers devoured the whole cake in less than an hour! I used 3 cups total of strawberries and 1/2 cup more marshmallows based off of some other reviews here. Definitely will be put into my "favorites" cookbook! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 535) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Fresh Strawberry Granita

Turn fresh strawberries into an impressive and simple frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States