Fresh Strawberry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
The cake turned out great but, with the marshmallows melting when heated I found it hard to tell when cake was done. Not enough to deter me from making this again-----as I will in 1hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Too too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Yummy! This cake was easy to make, tasty, and looked pretty when I turned it out onto the serving platter. I used about 2 1/2 cups crushed strawberries and only about 3/4 of the jello... I was a little hesitant to use the whole thing based on some of the negative reviews, but next time, I'll use it all! (Maybe the negative reviewers used jello pudding mix, and not gelatin?) Some of my strawberries weren't as ripe, so I crushed those first and put them in a separate bowl with a little bit of sugar. Those went in the fridge to sweeten up a bit while I crushed up the rest. I couldn't tell that any of them weren't as ripe this way! After baking and turning the cake out, I used a small spatula to spread some of the strawberries around the sides so it looked frosted. We love this cake, and it tastes even better the next day when it's had time to chill in the fridge! TIP ON MASHING: I cut the strawberries into quarter chunks. Then I used the bottom of a stainless steel measuring cup and smashed them on a cutting board - worked great this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly and it was AMAZING!!! OMG
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
UPDATE… I posted earlier that I had forgotten to sprinkle the jello, while Im sure it's better with the jello It's still VERY good without it! I only rated it a four since I did intact forget the Jello. oops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Delicious when hot, but I didn't like it much once it was chilled, it became rubbery. Not sure I will refrigerate it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
just made this and it was awesome...had it warm with cool whip...to die for...yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This is way too good to be so easy. I got tons of compliments from the ladies at the baby shower I took this too - new favorite / easy dessert recipe to impress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I want to try this recipe, but, it looks like a white cake mix was used... Can you use a Angel food cake mix?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I love strawberries in everything, but this strawberry upside down cake was terrible. The strawberry part was like rubber with the jello in it and the cake was very heavy and didn't rise. I followed the recipe exactly and I think the amount of jello may be a mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 532) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Fresh Strawberry Granita

Turn fresh strawberries into an impressive and simple frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States