Fresh Strawberry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
has anyone used a white cake mix? This is what I have. Recipe sounds delicious and I am anxious to make. Have all ingredients but have "white cake mix" not yellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I thought this was a really good cake. I'm not a fan of pineapple upside down cake, so this is a really good alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I served this at a neighborhood cookout yesterday, thinking the kids would love it. I had a bunch of strawberries getting ripe in my fridge and thought this was a perfect recipe to try. One neighbor said it reminded him of a rhubarb cake he'd had as a kid, and the recipe sounds very similar. I only used half the pack of strawberry jello and don't think the artificial flavor was overpowering, however, like some reviewers have said, the topping was rubbery and that was distracting. It tasted good- went well with whipped cream- and I altered the normal box cake recipe (from the Cake Doctor book) which made the cake super moist, but I'm not so sure I love how the strawberry topping turned out. The kids did like it, but probably won't make it again. I was hoping it would have turned out more like pineapple upside-down cake with more of a fresh strawberry kick, but the jello/marshmallow topping wasn't as great as I thought it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nealkel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
The cake did not turn out well.The strawberries turned into a jelly like goo.It tasted ok, I'm glade I did not make it for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I made it for the family and then a potluck every drop was eaten and everyone raved how good it was. I did extra strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bigfork, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This recipe would have been good if it didn't require all that gelatin. I ate once slice and broke out in hives for 5 days. I am not or never have been allergic to strawberries. I have even eaten them afterwards to see if maybe I developed an allergy. Beware...the gelatin is too much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Jefferson Station, New York, USA
Living In: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
The cake turned out great but, with the marshmallows melting when heated I found it hard to tell when cake was done. Not enough to deter me from making this again-----as I will in 1hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Too too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Yummy! This cake was easy to make, tasty, and looked pretty when I turned it out onto the serving platter. I used about 2 1/2 cups crushed strawberries and only about 3/4 of the jello... I was a little hesitant to use the whole thing based on some of the negative reviews, but next time, I'll use it all! (Maybe the negative reviewers used jello pudding mix, and not gelatin?) Some of my strawberries weren't as ripe, so I crushed those first and put them in a separate bowl with a little bit of sugar. Those went in the fridge to sweeten up a bit while I crushed up the rest. I couldn't tell that any of them weren't as ripe this way! After baking and turning the cake out, I used a small spatula to spread some of the strawberries around the sides so it looked frosted. We love this cake, and it tastes even better the next day when it's had time to chill in the fridge! TIP ON MASHING: I cut the strawberries into quarter chunks. Then I used the bottom of a stainless steel measuring cup and smashed them on a cutting board - worked great this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly and it was AMAZING!!! OMG
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 538) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States