Fresh Strawberry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
This cake is a winner!!! I made it for my Thanksgiving dinner and at my jobs Christmas party, everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie Desir

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I have made this cake twice and it always turns out great. I use a white cake mix with just egg whites for a more contrasting look. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vincent L Fredo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
The jello made it too strong tasting. I lightly sprayed my glass pan and it did not stick at all. I would omit the jello completely and instead mix the strawberries with a strawberry glaze. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
why so much flipping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I made this more because I was intrigued by the marshmallows. It was surprisingly tasty but not nearly as delicious as I thought it would be. It was very good when I added vanilla ice cream and chocolate syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
This was very easy to make. And its very tasting!! thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I've made this cake several times now and it is a HIT at my house. I make it in a pan that I don't have a serving plate to invert it on so I leave it in the glass pan. Maybe doesn't look as good this way but it sure as heck tastes WONDERFUL. Made it just as the recipe calls and it is sooo good. Since then have experimented some and they are awesome also, so this cake does give you the opportunity to make it "your own". Try it if you like an awesome refrigerator cake with fruit, you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Says cook for 40 mins. I cooked for 20 and it was starting to burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
This is a variation of the old Pillsbury Strawberry Shortcut Cake that has been around for over 30 years. The original was a made from scratch cake. It called for mixing two 10 oz. pkgs. frozen sliced strawberries with juice, thawed, with one 3-oz. pkg. jello in bowl. Let sit while you prepare cake. Then you put only 1 c. marshmallows (I used 2 c.) in bottom of well-greased 13x9 pan, mixed the cake, and poured it over the marshmallows. Finally, pour the strawberry mixture evenly over the cake batter. Bake about 40-50 minutes at 350°. It did not call for turning the cake out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I was disappointed with this recipe. I followed the instructions exactly. The strawberry topping with the marshmellos, jello and berries tasted like a cake with jam spread over the top. Definitely not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 549) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States