Fresh Strawberry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I was so excited to try this, but what a waste of perfectly good strawberries! I knew as I poured all that super sweet gelatin mix over my gorgeous berries that something was just wrong. Way, way tooo sweet and not pretty at all. Made it for Memorial Day w/e picnic and everyone, including me, chose my friend's sweetened strawberries and home made poundcake over this mess. So sweet, tasted like strawberry preserves. Not a keeper for us. Sorry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
This was great! I used a lemon cake mix and only 3 oz. pkg. of gelatin and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I really liked this cake because it was so easy to make with really nice results. My husband and I don't eat cake often, so I made two smaller cakes using 8" round cake pans. They only had to cook for about 35 minutes. I was able to share them with my neighbors at a weekend gathering and with my co-workers on Monday morning! I might try to make individual cakes using my muffin tins next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WITTZEND1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Tastes amazing! I made multiple desserts today and used up all of my 9x13s. I used two 9' circle pans and while the cake layer was a bit thinner, the taste was still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This was absolutely delicious! Very moist and so easy. I will be making this again. Would like to give it a try with other fruits and jello flavors perhaps peach or blueberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Awesome flavor and very easy to make! I topped with Cool Whip when served :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
was not very pretty and not my favorite the first day but after sitting in fridge overnight it was delicious - I will probably make again if I have a good batch of strawberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Widner Harvey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Weird recipe but wonderful tasting result!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This was really good! I used fresh strawberries cubed and sprinkled some white sugar to help draw out the juices. I also used a sugar-free strawberry jello a french vanilla cake mix. I used a bundt pan and it turned out nicely! I used non-stick spray and dusted with flour. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Easy delicious recipe! I made this with fresh picked strawberries I pulsed in the blender until there were just a few chunks left. Took it to the pool to have a dessert and topped it with whipped cream. Everyone asked for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon A

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catonsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: West Friendship, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 538) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States