Fresh Strawberry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This cake is really good. I used strawberry cake mix in exchange for What it called for. I also used strawberries that were already in sugar that I had in the refrigerator. So Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I wasn't to please with this cake . I will try it again and see if it turns out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamala Hawks- Lites

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Staci Purvis Maddox
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Yummy in my Tummy!!! This was super easy and everyone loved it! I used fresh strawberries (sliced w/added sugar). I'm not a fan of marshmallows and wondered how they would affect the end product, but went ahead & followed the recipe. Couldn't even tell they were there! Which was fine, It tasted delicious! I made mine in a bundt pan and baked for right at 50 minutes. When I poured the cake batter in, it was right up to the edge of the pan and I thought it would probably bake over (so added a cookie sheet underneath). To my surprise it didn't overflow at all! Once the strawberries & marshmallows cooked down, it was all fine. Also, I don't have much of a sweet tooth, but I've had three pieces of this cake so far. Like I said, Yummy in my Tummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci Purvis Maddox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I thought this cake was delicious. The fresh strawberries made it all the better. Used strawberry banana jello instead of strawberry because it was all that I had. Tasted great. Very moist. (Also used butter cake instead of yellow cake mix)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Thought that the cake was good however if I try it again I will cut back on the jello to the smaller box
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrey Elliott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Romeoville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Thomaston, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I made this twice. We didn't care for it. Traditional strawberry shortcake is much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
very very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
My kids and I made this tonight. I took other reviews and used 3 oz of gelatin. I also added a little sugar to strawberries while I made the cake to bring out more juice. My cake cooked in 30 min. Kids really liked and so did I. We added whip cream to top. Could not really taste the marshmellows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYLEO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This is a keeper for my family. Everyone loved it!! I made the recipe as written except I added extra strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blair, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I made this cake last night and it was DELICIOUS! Easy to make, very moist, light and flavorful. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 561) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States