Fresh Strawberry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
My family went nuts over this. I used 3 cups instead of 2 of the strawberries, 2 didn't fill my pan. Otherwise I followed exactly and it turned out amazing. Great easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reikari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
SOOOOO YUMMY! Recipe is perfect just the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmoss80

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I've made this a few times now and the latest for 4th of July. I lightly sprayed a glass 13x9 pan with cooking spray. Doubled the strawberries and used an egg slicer to help chop them up and mashed about half, then mixed with fat free strawberry jello before spreading on the bottom. Instead of oil in the cake mix I used applesauce to cut some calories. Then I served it with lite whipped topping and sprinkled with fresh blueberries. This was my red white and blue dessert - fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHIEV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Highlands, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Pretty good! I liked it but it did not go over well with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texastwinkie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Wow! We loved this. Made for my MIL to celebrate her retirement. I made it exactly as written except that I only had a 3 ounce box of gelatin. It worked out perfect! Very easy to turn out of the cake. The leftover cake was ever better the next day. Very moist, delicious cake. My husband has already requested it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenznc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iron Mountain, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I mashed strawberries with potato masher. Strawberries were very watery. Had to cook well over 50 minutes to cook centre of cake. When I turned it out it was no pretty and sloppy. Served it in bowl by cutting up cake and placing in large glass bowl and layering it with cool whip. Looked like a triple. Tasted nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by suzyqdeb61
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I Just turned cake over and the smell is sooooo wonderful! I added some lemon juice to the water to make the amount it amount called for and a few more berries..added some blue for color since it was a 4th of July party..I plan on decorationg with whip cream!! Can't wait to try a whole piece..the nibble was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Tasty but maybe next time subtract the marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Simple, yet so delicious you will want to lick the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I was so excited to try this, but what a waste of perfectly good strawberries! I knew as I poured all that super sweet gelatin mix over my gorgeous berries that something was just wrong. Way, way tooo sweet and not pretty at all. Made it for Memorial Day w/e picnic and everyone, including me, chose my friend's sweetened strawberries and home made poundcake over this mess. So sweet, tasted like strawberry preserves. Not a keeper for us. Sorry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 517) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Fresh Strawberry Granita

A gorgeous and simple frozen strawberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States