Fresh Strawberry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2015
Even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metamora, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
I just really wanted to love this cake. But, alas--nope. I made it exactly as written, no adjustments. What I got was, well, a white cake topped with jello. The flavor was not bad, but how can you argue with the flavor of strawberries? The marshmellow stuff was odd as it came out of the oven, then it did disappear into--yes--the jello stuff, apparently. All I can say is I'm not sorry we tried it. Nobody wanted any of it again, that's very telling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOOSETRAX75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
I used a strawberry cake mix instead of a yellow cake mix. Make sure you let the strawberries sit for a while after sprinkling the the release the juices. Came out great. I'll have to try it with yellow to see the difference. I normally make my cakes from scratch instead of mixes, will try that also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy Sanchez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
I have made this cake several times and it is a winner. I have added blueberries to make it red white and blue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Thornton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
The recipe was not worth the work or the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
I made this recipe and it was fabulous. The only change I made was, I used a white cake mix instead of a yellow one. I would totally recommend trying this recipe. Julie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
Delicious and so simple to make. I followed the instructions exactly and every one loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Holt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
I decided to try this cake but I also have an abundance of rhubarb so I took one large stalk and cut it into small pieces and mixed it with the crushed strawberries and continued as directed. I also used a little bit smaller pan because one of you said it came out too thin. It was perfect! The rhubarb gave it a delightful tang! It was so quick and easy. I will probably make it again in the winter using some of my frozen berries and frozen rhubarb for a taste of springtime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mistaytay
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
I loved this recipe! But I do agree with some of the other reviewers that 2cups of crushed strawberries is not enough. The only changes that I made were that I added 3 1/2 cups of crushed strawberries, and to the cake 1 tsp of Madagascar vanilla and lemon zest. It was fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
Good recipe, but a little too sweet for my family. I will use chopped rhubarb in place of the crushed strawberries in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 560) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States