Fresh Strawberry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
The recipe was not worth the work or the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
I made this recipe and it was fabulous. The only change I made was, I used a white cake mix instead of a yellow one. I would totally recommend trying this recipe. Julie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
Delicious and so simple to make. I followed the instructions exactly and every one loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Holt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
I decided to try this cake but I also have an abundance of rhubarb so I took one large stalk and cut it into small pieces and mixed it with the crushed strawberries and continued as directed. I also used a little bit smaller pan because one of you said it came out too thin. It was perfect! The rhubarb gave it a delightful tang! It was so quick and easy. I will probably make it again in the winter using some of my frozen berries and frozen rhubarb for a taste of springtime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mistaytay
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
I loved this recipe! But I do agree with some of the other reviewers that 2cups of crushed strawberries is not enough. The only changes that I made were that I added 3 1/2 cups of crushed strawberries, and to the cake 1 tsp of Madagascar vanilla and lemon zest. It was fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
Good recipe, but a little too sweet for my family. I will use chopped rhubarb in place of the crushed strawberries in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
This photo is misleading. When made in 9X13 pan the cake is lots thinner. Wish I would have known this. There is so much wet product that is too hard to serve at the gathering I made it for. I made the cake just as you wrote it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Betts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bevy
Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Excellent cake, moist, not too sweet. Served with fresh strawberries and whipped cream...delicious and delicate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bevy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Was dissapointed. The cake did not cook fully in the middle, and the edges appeared burnt. I prepped according to recipie, won't make again. A great idea, but I'll stick to strawberry short cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
It was so bland and the cake was mush. Very disappointed because it looked beautiful sitting on my counter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 556) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States