Fresh Strawberry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I found this recipe for my daughter to make for a school project. She needed something this color and texture. When we looked at the ingredients I was pretty sure it would be uber-sweet and not to our liking. Boy were we wrong! The two of us cut the shapes for her project and afterwards licked our fingers and WoW! we ate every scrap and scraped the pan. We made it for a second presentation and decided it was not fair not to make one for ourselves so we finally did.. The cake has come out every time perfectly. This cake is such a treat-even for a grown-up(not at all what I was expecting) The marshmallows bubble up through the cake making it super moist and the berries and jello make a gooey delishious jam like topping. Don't forget the whipped cream :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Very good but S doesnt like cooked strawberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Very sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I used half blueberries and half raspberries (3 cups per previous reviews) and raspberry flavored gelatin. You couldn't really taste the blueberries, but the cake was delicious! It could have used more fruit than even the 3 cups. Next time I will add whip cream, which I think would make it taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This was so good! Perfect summer dessert and I think I like it better than the normal strawberry shortcake. It does need to be eaten pretty quick though cause after sitting in the fridge for a couple days the strawberries get kinda mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smith's Wife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This is an easy and fantastic recipe when strawberries are in season. I used a bundt pan and had to place a pan under it in the oven as the mixture over-flowed. No matter, it turned out of the pan easily and received RAVE reviews from my neighbors. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim in Kansas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stewartsville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I made this cake yesterday for my sister's baby shower and it came out beautifully. Followed the recipe exactly as directed. Everyone at the shower raved about it. A couple people had two or three pieces! I will definetly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Don't expect this to look like a strawberry shortcake. The baking process will darken and soften the berries. I have tried it with and without the marshmallows...both ways were wonderful. The marshmallows gave it a richer, heavier texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Loved it! My whole family did! SUPER easy quick cake. I only had orange jello and it worked perfectly! I used a non stick bunt pan and it was so pretty, and came out easy! Would be even better with some whipped cream on top! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joelle B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I made this cake 3 times since I got the recipe last month. It's easy but tastes really special. It comes out of the pan much more easily than I had initially expected. Lots of compliments, highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 517) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Fresh Strawberry Granita

A gorgeous and simple frozen strawberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States