Fresh Strawberry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I have used many great recipes from this site, but this one was a huge zero. The marshmallows in the recipe were noticable and unappealing. A 6 oz. pkg of jello is way, way too much to sprinkle on. This cake was too sweet, and as another reviewer wrote, it was such a waste of delicious fresh strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorelli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fords, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This was okay. I excpected a little more taste. I would have made my strawberries in bigger chunks, because they almost dissapeared after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Very refreshing and light. Got carried away and completely pureed the strawberries. It still turned out beautiful and delicious. Could not taste the marshmallows at all (good thing for me, b/c I don't really care for them). I may try to make this with an angel food cake next time just to lighten it up even more. Served with vanilla bean ice cream, but would be great with whipped cream on top too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Nevitt Borgnini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Not so great the next day....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
this was good & REALLY sweet. If I made it again I would probably use a white cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vintage Fare

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
*Drool* Served this cake at a party last night w/ additional fresh strawberries and whipped cream for garnish, and it disappeared fast! I let my strawberries sit under a sprinkle of sugar til I mashed them w/ the back of a fork. It didn't occur to me that I had the 3 oz. packet of strawberry gelatin instead of the 6 oz. the recipe calls for, so I'm not sure if that changed the end result all that much, but either way, the strawberry, the marshmellow ... the cake, OH MY! Can't wait to try this cake again w/ a different combo of fruit to gelatin flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This was "pretty good". It was something different, but not the best thing I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
this cake was very easy and refreshing, I have used french vanilla and yellow cake mix to make it and both are very good. I also add whip cream on the top and serve it cold great recipe thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Yummy!!!!!! Wouldn't change a thing. My family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This was a very simple, very sweet recipe. The marshmallows blend in with the sauce and you cannot even tell they're there! I crushed my strawberries a bit much, so they totally dissolved the marshmallows during cooking, therefore I did not have the crunch others have mentioned. It was really very good, and a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JakesLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sellersburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 161-170 (of 547) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States