Fresh Strawberry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This seemed like kind of a crazy recipe, with the marshmallows, jello, etc. I enjoyed it, and would consider making it again, although it was not a pretty-looking cake at ALL. Still, it was moist and pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Used Butter Pecan cake mix and used a full 2 lbs strawberries. Didn't turn cake over either until it was served on the individual cakes, it was AWESOME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I'm reviewing this as someone who bakes a lot. The cake tastes like a box cake mix and the fresh strawberries are wasted. Save your time and money and use frozen strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Thank you for the wonderful recipie. My son and husband regularly ask for this now. It is so easy. And takes no time at all. Havent found one person who didnt like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Pratt, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Excellent recipe! Thanks Parealtor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
The only things I changed were to do 3 oz. of the gelatin powder (all I had), and I baked it in a bundt pan for about an hour....SOOOOOO moist and delicious! I thank the marshmallow and strawberry goodness for that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
My strawberries were really runny. It had a good flavor though. I followed the directions of the recipe. Next time I think I will just slice the strawberries. It is really good with rhubarb, which is how my mom made it while I was growing up. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
The cake was easy to make. I used only 2/3rds of the jellow pack. Im glad i did. It would have been too sweet. My first time makeing it turned out good. I will be makeing it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I have used many great recipes from this site, but this one was a huge zero. The marshmallows in the recipe were noticable and unappealing. A 6 oz. pkg of jello is way, way too much to sprinkle on. This cake was too sweet, and as another reviewer wrote, it was such a waste of delicious fresh strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorelli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fords, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This was okay. I excpected a little more taste. I would have made my strawberries in bigger chunks, because they almost dissapeared after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 141-150 (of 535) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Fresh Strawberry Granita

Turn fresh strawberries into an impressive and simple frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States