Fresh Strawberry Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by sfleebite
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
It was DELICIOUS. The only thing I did differently was I mixed 1/4 of the strawberry gelatin in with the cake mix instead of on the crushed strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I thought it was very tasty!! Tasted like strawbery shortcake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anjee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fallon, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
I wanted SO bad to like this cake but couldn't get past the fake tasting strawberry goo. Sad to have wasted such wonderful strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ande16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
The cake was extremely easy to make, came out looking very pretty and tasted good. I made it for a friend's birthday and everyone enjoyed it. The reason I give this recipe only 3 stars is because it does, understandably, taste like a box cake. I will make this cake again only if I'm very short on time. The slight change I made was to mix some of the gelatin powder in with the strawberries as I was crushing them and to reduce the total amount of gelatin powder by about 1/3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Great recipe. I was scared about using an entire package of jello but it really worked well! I used three cups of sliced fresh strawberry's and three cups of mini marshmallows other than that I followed the recipe to a "T" I was really worried it would have the weird fake strawberry taste from the jello but that was not at all the case. This recipe is amazing and taste wonderful and so simple to make!!! Also it only took 40 min to cook and I let it rest in a greased glass pan for 15 min before inverting and it came out beautiful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke'smom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This is amazing!! I used strawberry/bannan sugar free geltin (by mistake-it was late), but it was great. I made the cake in a 9x13 pan and then cut it in half and stacked it. I put cool whip around the sides and it looked great. Everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made this for one of my Easter desserts. It was very moist and the taste was great. I do agree with the previous review that the cake was not all that attractive. But since the family really loved it I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This seemed like kind of a crazy recipe, with the marshmallows, jello, etc. I enjoyed it, and would consider making it again, although it was not a pretty-looking cake at ALL. Still, it was moist and pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Used Butter Pecan cake mix and used a full 2 lbs strawberries. Didn't turn cake over either until it was served on the individual cakes, it was AWESOME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I'm reviewing this as someone who bakes a lot. The cake tastes like a box cake mix and the fresh strawberries are wasted. Save your time and money and use frozen strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 532) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Fresh Strawberry Granita

Turn fresh strawberries into an impressive and simple frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States