Fresh Strawberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
What a great scone recipe! Made these for the first time to take to a meeting this morning and everyone raved about how good they were and many requested the recipe. They were flavorful and moist. Definitely a keeper! Like other reviewers stated, I never knead the dough for biscuit type breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
If you are looking for fresh berry flavor then skip this recipe. I used fresh, delicious berries from my back yard and the flavor of nutmeg completely overpowered the strawberries. Also, I think 1 1/2 t of lemon zest is too much. 1t or even 1/2 t would be plenty. I did, however like the consistency of the scone. Very light and crumbly. If I were to make them again I would leave out the nutmeg, cut the amount of zest, and leave the strawberries in bigger hunks to maximize their flavor. After all, isn't that the idea of a fresh strawberry scone?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I used raspberries and AHHH what a disaster. Don' do it! I had to add soooo much extra flour because the dough was way too wet and then they turned a gray color because of the raspberries mixing in. I don't think I would try this recipe again even with strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Just made scones for the first time... these were fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly except for the lemon zest, but the scones tasted amazing. Might be my new favorite thing to bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I have made this recipe several times now. The first time I made it just as written and although it was very yummy the dough was wet. The strawberries you use directly effect the outcome! If you have very ripe sweet berries you will get a wet and yummy dough, if you get some that rea not so ripe you will have less trouble with moisture but the taste will not be as good. My final solution was to use a combination of dried strawberries and dried strawberry flavored crasins. YUM! Also faboo with dried blueberries. (Be sure to mince them a bit so they are not so big.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonhillcraft

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Simply gooey, unkneadable dough that requires extra flour but still doesn't work very well. These things certainly don't bake in 16 minutes! As far as taste goes, they're dull. I didn't like the nutmeg either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by La Chatte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I am debating between a 4 and 5 for this. I cooked for about 15 minutes, and they were very moist scones. I like them this way, so it was great, but not exactly what I usually expect from scones. I substituted the cream for vanilla yoghurt, and a little bit of half and half. I also used a little more salt then it called for. Did not have a blender, so I just chopped the butter into very small cubes. This turned out fine, but I did have to add a little extra yoghurt. Also, dough was very wet, but this still turned out fine, I just couldn't really cut it, more just shape it. Very very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
These were excellent. I didn't have cream or lemons on hand the first time I made them, so I substituted 1/2 cup vanilla yogurt for the cream and vanilla (second time used 1/2 cup strawberry yogurt). This also made them a bit healthier. In place of the lemon zest, I added a little lemon juice to the powdered sugar glaze I made. The dough was very crumbly when I dumped it onto the counter because yogurt is thicker than cream. It didn't mix in as well, so I had to mix it by hand on the counter to make sure the moisture was evenly distributed. I made these for my wife for Mother's Day breakfast, and she LOVED them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I made a slight variation of these by using a cup of oats ground instead of 1 c of flour. I also reduced the butter to 3 T. They usually only have to cook for about 14 min, watch them closely. My husband loves strawerry muffins, and thought these were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
They looked wonderful, but were not very flavorful. Needs more strawberry flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tstorm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Fresh Strawberry Granita

Turn fresh strawberries into an impressive and simple frozen dessert.

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States