Fresh Strawberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Reduce fruit by half, and add Strawberry Preserves for better flavor-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Substituted 1c. Wheat flour for one of the cups of flour to make it healthier. Also used fresh blueberries rather than strawberries. Way too moist once i started kneeding the dough. I ended up adding about 1 cup extra flour. The scones where good but still too moist for my taste. Will try it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
while these were pretty good, there were also a few problems. first, they are way too sweet to be authentic scones. while the lemon zest was a nice touch, it was sort of overwhelmed by the nutmeg. should i try them again, i will cut the sugar in half, eliminate the nutmeg, and substitute buttermilk for the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I just made these scones and they were DELICIOUS! Very moist and flavorful. I didn't have nutmeg or light cream on hand. I used 1/4 tsp of cinnamon instead of nutmeg and for the cream I used 1/2 cup of half and half mixed with 2 tbsp of melted butter. I LOVED the hint of cinnamon and highly recommend it! As other reviews have stated, the dough is too wet to knead or to cut into shapes. Instead of putting it in a round cake pan and cutting it, I just scooped the batter onto the baking sheet and formed the scones there. I made a glaze that I spooned on top of the scones once they were out of the oven. Just used powdered sugar, milk, vanilla, and a little lemon zest- it was the perfect touch! I wil DEFINITELY be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Very good, but I'm trying to figure out what would make it GREAT! I did not knead. I try to keep my hands OUT of scones/biscuits as much as possible. Just get it to hold together and cut. I'm going to try again with some orange zest this time and perhaps a little glaze...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
What a great scone recipe! Made these for the first time to take to a meeting this morning and everyone raved about how good they were and many requested the recipe. They were flavorful and moist. Definitely a keeper! Like other reviewers stated, I never knead the dough for biscuit type breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
If you are looking for fresh berry flavor then skip this recipe. I used fresh, delicious berries from my back yard and the flavor of nutmeg completely overpowered the strawberries. Also, I think 1 1/2 t of lemon zest is too much. 1t or even 1/2 t would be plenty. I did, however like the consistency of the scone. Very light and crumbly. If I were to make them again I would leave out the nutmeg, cut the amount of zest, and leave the strawberries in bigger hunks to maximize their flavor. After all, isn't that the idea of a fresh strawberry scone?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I used raspberries and AHHH what a disaster. Don' do it! I had to add soooo much extra flour because the dough was way too wet and then they turned a gray color because of the raspberries mixing in. I don't think I would try this recipe again even with strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Just made scones for the first time... these were fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly except for the lemon zest, but the scones tasted amazing. Might be my new favorite thing to bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I have made this recipe several times now. The first time I made it just as written and although it was very yummy the dough was wet. The strawberries you use directly effect the outcome! If you have very ripe sweet berries you will get a wet and yummy dough, if you get some that rea not so ripe you will have less trouble with moisture but the taste will not be as good. My final solution was to use a combination of dried strawberries and dried strawberry flavored crasins. YUM! Also faboo with dried blueberries. (Be sure to mince them a bit so they are not so big.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonhillcraft

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Fresh Strawberry Granita

A gorgeous and simple frozen strawberry dessert.

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States