Fresh Strawberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
I liked this recipe. I think will be perfect for cakes that are mildly sweet to give a boost in flavor to them. I read that someone had to add a bit extra corn starch well to my taste, as long as you let it cool down this will get rid of its runny texture and after you put it in the fridge it will thicken a bit more. My recommendation would be to let it rest overnight in the fridge. It will make a difference. I also think that you can use about 2 or 3 tbsp of sugar if your strawberries are very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
Easy recipe, came out perfect and balanced the creaminess of the strawberry frozen mousse I served with it. I added a bit more balsamic but thats just a matter of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharona Ghazy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
I always use this when I make cheesecake. The balsamic vinegar is a rather interesting touch. You really need to watch it after you put a cover on it. Too many times have I checked on it, and then had it boil over a minute later. It really seems to ruin the consistency of the sauce - makes it thinner, I think. One thing I've started doing is leaving it in the blender with the cover off after pureeing it. I've found that it makes the sauce a little thicker. Anyway, I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abigail Dirksmeier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
This sauce is amazing! I followed the recipe exactly except that I sliced my strawberries with my egg slicer before adding them to the pan and then I did not have to puree it afterwards because they broke down almost to a puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Amazeballs sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RocK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pawleys Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I used this recipe with fresh blackberries instead of strawberries. I also used a potato masher (gently) while they were simmering instead of pureeing for extra texture. The subtlety of the balsamic is amazing. This sauce is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paulwall
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Goes great with cheesecake and/or vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulwall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Oh my made this recipe exactly as written only added a little extra cornstarch for it to thicken more this is the best sauce ever will definitely make again thanks chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Easy, yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I used frozen strawberries and it came out well. I also did not purée it since I didn't have a blender, but was still pleased with it. Will definitely make it again the next time I want a strawberry sauce. It went great with cheesecake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Chef John's Fresh Raspberry Sauce

Chef John's recipe for fresh raspberry sauce will turn any day into Valentine's D

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States