Fresh Strawberry Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SalPal
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I love this recipe! It's quick, easy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SalPal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bakingmomma
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I am happily surprised! Mainly because I don't make/like fruit pies..at all. However my husband loves them and requested it for his birthday. It is SUPER easy and very tasty! I doubled the recipe and took the advice of lowering the sugar amount. So for a double batch I used 1 1/2 cups sugar, sliced the strawberries into 3rds and put a thin layer of glaze on the baked shell. Be sure to follow the cooling directions and let it firm up in the fridge. With fresh whipped cream this dessert is addicting!@
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I made this pie and it was gone in 1 day !!! My husband said it was the best strawberry pie he has ever had I will never buy that strawberry goo in the plastic bag again ladies this IS the pie to make !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
If you like Jello, then you will like this. A lot of reviews for this recipe and recipes similar mentioned that you had to leave this out to cool COMPLETELY before pouring into pie. I wish I would NOT have listened. I let it sit for about an hour and it was so firm that I had to heat it back up to get it back to a consistency I could pour. I used the short bread crust here on AR (delicious). I thought this pie was just "OK", but all of my kids really loved it. Also, I only used 3/4 cup of sugar and it was PLENTY sweet enough:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I followed a few others' advice and used a cream cheese base. 8 oz blended with 1/4 tsp vanilla and 1/4 c sugar. Then I reduced the sugar in the gelatin to 3/4 cup. I used just the tiniest sprinkle of salt. I did not allow gelatin to cool fully before pouring it on (maybe 60-90 min at room temp), but the pie was perfect after about 3-4 hours in the fridge. I used strawberries from our garden, which are so cute and the perfect size. If using larges strawberries, I would have had to chop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
The pie was really good, but can someone please help me to understand how to cut the thing? With my sharpest serrated knife, I could not cut a pretty piece :( So, while the pie looked incredible in the dish before I cut it, the piece was broken and falling to the side and ugly. I think it was b/c the strawberries in the store look good, but when you taste them they are hard and sour. I would make this again, but only with good quality strawberries-like local farm market berries, then I bet this would be out of this world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sharjah, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Paige
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
My husband promised one of his client's one of my strawberry pies, which any other year would have been fine...but I usually pick the berries to go in my pies and we just had a baby, so I wasn't up for it this year. I had also lost my recipe and strawberries in PA were done for the season...feeling a little discouraged I found this recipe which is very similiar to mine. I however use a bit less sugar, add 2 tsp of freshly squeezed lemon juice and two quarts of strawberries cut in halves or thirds, so that the pie appears like a mountain of strawberries. I missed PA's strawberry season, but found MA berries to be just as tasty. His client said it was the best strawberry pie she had ever eaten; she even snuck downstairs in the middle of the night to have another piece. Thank you Glenda for posting this recipe; it truly helped me out in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I enjoyed this recipe but would cut back the sugar a bit next time for our tastes. I have a hard time serving strawberry pie in neat slices so I made individual round crusts and placed in bottom of serving glasses. I then topped with the strawberry mixture and topped with whipped cream. This was a really cute individual dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Whole family ejoyed this a lot. Didnt have strawberry gelatin, used raspberry instead. Yum. Followed others' idea, and put a layer of cream cheese between the crust and filling. Such a good idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spatula flipper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I wasn't crazy about this recipe. I didn't make a pie out of it, cause I was just experimenting with it, I just made the sauce and put the strawberries into it and put it in the frige. It was really too thick once refrigerated. It may have been ok if left at room temperature, but I don't know cause it was late and I put in the frige while it was still a little bit warm.. And to me, it was too sweet. But that may depend on the ripeness of your berries. Mine were really ripe. Maybe, if I add a little less cornstarch and less sugar, it would be ok.. another suggestion is to run a few berries in a blender and add to the sauce to make it taste less like artificial strawberry flavor from the jello, and more like real strawberry flavor. Overall, this recipe was ok at best... it wasn't horrible, but it wasn't wonderful either..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States