Fresh Strawberry Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2000
The glaze is great, but I lined my pie crust with 8 oz softened cream cheese before I added the strawberries, to keep the crust from getting soggy, and add richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2000
Loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2000
This recipe tastes just great... I also put creamcheese on the pie crust which add some richness to the pie.. BIG APPLAUSE FROM THE FAMILY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
We thought this was absolutely delicious!! I even made more pies for friends and they raved about them. This is definately a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
this pie was great. i happen to find good strawberries in the middle of february in ohio! i added a little more gelatin because i am always afraid the pie won't set! next time i am going to try the cream cheese in the bottom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
I had to substitute 3 TB flour in place of the corn starch, and used strawberry-banana gelatin in place of strawberry. I also coated the crust with cream cheese before adding strawberries. It was thoroughly enjoyed by all--especially with whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayandshy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
I would probably rename this "Jello Pie"; the "glaze" is just Jello. I used the cream cheese in the bottom too, so it basically tasted like cream cheese with jello on top. Didn't taste bad, just really really strange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
I've made this a couple of times, and we love it. It's one of my husband's favorites, and he doesn't usually dig desserts! I don't get the bad reviews. I've made no changes, other than topping individual slices with lite Cool Whip, and my crust has never gotten soggy. Try as written, it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovesCheese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
This turned out wonderfully despite my picked-too-green, sour, tough strawberries. I used a Keebler 2 extra servings graham cracker crust, added a layer of cream cheese on the bottom of it, and added an extra Tbs. of Jell-o to the glaze to compensate for the berries. Next time I think I will add the berries (halved or coarsely chunked)to the glaze while it is still cooking--perhaps this will soften and sweeten them. Considering how BAD my berries were, this was an EXCELLENT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
followed the advice of others and added cream cheese but you could barely taste it. When i cut into the pie it was so soupy it just came out as a big blob of strawberries and crust. Everyone still liked it but lacked appearance. I will continue to use the glaze for strawberry shortcake as it was great. I had more than would fit in the pie and saved some of the strawberries and glaze for later. my husband loved the strawberry mixture for ol fashiion strawberry shortcake. Overall not impressed with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States