Fresh Strawberry Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2000
The glaze is great, but I lined my pie crust with 8 oz softened cream cheese before I added the strawberries, to keep the crust from getting soggy, and add richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I love to bake pies and this one is definately a keeper, the only thing I did diferently, and I could probably have done without, is I added one more tbls of jello. This is a great light pie!! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I made just a few changes(used frozen strawberries rather than fresh & used 4 Tbs of gelatin mix, since I was out of cornstarch) and everyone in the family loved it, including my sister-in-law, who does not "do pies". I might make it again next week, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
We thought this was absolutely delicious!! I even made more pies for friends and they raved about them. This is definately a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2000
This recipe tastes just great... I also put creamcheese on the pie crust which add some richness to the pie.. BIG APPLAUSE FROM THE FAMILY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This is my first review, but I had to let you know how great this is. The family thoroughly enjoyed it. It was the first time I had made a strawberry pie but it won't be the last. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
OMG!!!! Awesome! Doubled the recipe and made 2 pies. I used Keebler graham cracker crust (the crust with 2 extra servings). Used fresh strawberries from my garden. Just served to several coworkers who devoured the pies in 10 minutes. Will make again. Update: made again this week - important to let the filling cool completely. I didn't let it cool long enough (only an hour an 15 min) because I was tired and wanted to go to bed. So, the next morning when I cut the pie at work it was a bit runny. So, make sure you cool completely. Will take about 2 to 3 hours to cool to room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTYLEE3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
I've made this a couple of times, and we love it. It's one of my husband's favorites, and he doesn't usually dig desserts! I don't get the bad reviews. I've made no changes, other than topping individual slices with lite Cool Whip, and my crust has never gotten soggy. Try as written, it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovesCheese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This was sooo good. For the crust I used the Shortbread Crust recipe from this site. I also sliced the strawberries instead of leaving them whole. Everyone loved it! My husband already wants me to make it again. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I wasn't crazy about this recipe. I didn't make a pie out of it, cause I was just experimenting with it, I just made the sauce and put the strawberries into it and put it in the frige. It was really too thick once refrigerated. It may have been ok if left at room temperature, but I don't know cause it was late and I put in the frige while it was still a little bit warm.. And to me, it was too sweet. But that may depend on the ripeness of your berries. Mine were really ripe. Maybe, if I add a little less cornstarch and less sugar, it would be ok.. another suggestion is to run a few berries in a blender and add to the sauce to make it taste less like artificial strawberry flavor from the jello, and more like real strawberry flavor. Overall, this recipe was ok at best... it wasn't horrible, but it wasn't wonderful either..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States