Fresh Strawberry Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
the kids really loved this and it came out beautifully. I followed the directions to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrolivi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alburnett, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Mine turned out too gelatin-like. I found another recipe like this and it had all the same ingredients, but their recipe called for 2 cups of water instead. Most of the reviews for this other recipe changed the water to 1 1/4 cup water so I think that would help if you don't like your pie filling tasting like Jello. So disappointed! This is so easy to make, I was hoping for a home run.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Use cold water. Only use the amount of sugar you need based on sweetness of berries. For 1 pie do all the same but 2 tablespoons of strawberry jello. Cook the sugar, cornstarch & water until it's clear. It's not going to be completely clear - rather not white anymore. It will bubble slightly & then get it off the burner. It will be thickened fine. Then add your jello. All should be well unless you took your berries out of the fridge & tried to use them cold. They will weep & you'll end up with a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 75077
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
This pie is simple and amazing. Served it at a dinner party and everyone raved about it. I am wondering, can I prepare this a day or two ahead of time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
My family used to make a pie like this when I was a kid, so I decided to try it for my family after coming across this recipe. The pie is good for if you want a fresh dessert that is not so many calories. This Jello mixture though did not fill 2 pie shells, not even close. I ended up finishing the pies and then having to quickly make more of the mixture to be able to fill the gaps in the pie shells/ cover all of the strawberries. The strawberries are plenty for 2 shells, just double the Jello mixture when you're making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This recipe was not good at all. The jello made it taste like a rubber pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Excellent recipie and a snap to make! One I will be making many times again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gull Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Yum! I made this tonight & just had my first bite. It is delicious. I followed MrsKWaters advice & added a bit more sugar to the glaze mix as my strawberries were tart. I also discarded the extra mix. I mounded the strawberries like the directions said, but the filling did not spread out like I thought it would...maybe that's because of discarding the extra glaze mix? But regardless, it is so good. Oh, and I just made the topping as directed, but used brown sugar, & a dash of white. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I found this had not enough strawberries for two pies (looked 'naked' almost) and entirely TOO sweet. Not to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
seriously delicious! It screams summer when you used fresh picked strawberries...thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States