Fresh Strawberry-Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
i wish I had left my parchment paper on the cookie tray. Now I have a big mess to scrape off the tray! The taste is good but I think this recipe is a fail for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellydawn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
What a DISASTER! There is no way this recipe will work with ripe strawberries. The amount of juice that they produce makes a very runny, unusable batter. My fix: an extra 1 1/2 cups of oatmeal and another cup of flour. Then I put them in a 13x9 pan like quick bread. In theory, you could forgo the milk, and only add a bit more oatmeal and flour, or drain your strawberries before adding them to your batter. I gave this 2 stars based just on the fact that even though it's a disaster waiting to happen, the taste is actually quite nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Pretty good- I added flour, Omitted the cinnimon, and I refridgerated them. Clever idea, but they were just ok. I bet they'd be better if u added cocoa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I had great success with frozen strawberries, honey instead of white sugar, and a handful of dark chocolate chips thrown in. Also -- be liberal with the baking soda! It makes for a lighter cookie. (I think I used 1.5 teaspoons)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
These cam out wonderful. I had fresh frozen strawberries. I used old fashioned rolled oats. I did not have quick oats. They are chewy crispy goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IZECREEMER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I had many of the same problems as other reviewers. Dough was very runny, even after adding extra flour and oats. I baked them anyway, and they turned out sort of cake-like, which was kind of strange. I only baked half of the recipe because they looked funny, but those cookies disappeared fast, despite the weird texture! Also, the dough was DELICIOUS! I probably ate a dozen cookies worth of cookie dough while making these...I decided to save the rest of the cookie dough to put on ice cream. Soo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
We would just like to say we tried making this recipe, but you know we wanted a lil summtin summtin so we added a lil malibu rum but then it needed more flour so we added it then we baked it and we thought it would be fun to carmalize sugar and strawberries ontop of the cookies they were mushy and we added some mapel syrup and flamed the out of that. Basically these cookies are
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
these turned out pretty good, i didn't have as many strawberries as i thought i did so i used blueberries. i don't recommend adding more flour to it, they turned out fine with the amount listed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I found these cookies to be terrible, even after I applied a couple of the hints listed in the other reviews. I had to add so much flour that they ended up tasting like flour, not strawberries. I would not recommend making these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
These cookies aren't very good. First, I did not need to add the 1/4 cup of milk & I added a 1/2 cup of flour because the dough was too wet. I had to bake them for 12 minutes & they are soft cookies - almost cake-like. It almost seemed like quick bread batter. In addition to the batter being too wet, the cookies just aren't very tasty. I will not be making these again. All you taste is cinnamon - not strawberry. I think I would leave out the cinnamon & add a teaspoon of almond extract instead of vanilla. I also added a half bag of mini chocolate chips & they are still bland cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States