Fresh Strawberry-Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Unfortunately, I was not impressed. The flavor was great, however, even with taking suggestions by other reviewers into consideration, the cookies still didn't turn out all that well. I think they can definitely do without the milk. I upped the flour to 2 cups, and the oats to 1 1/2 cups. They held together while baking, but they are just extremely moist. I also increased cook time to 11 minutes, which helped without burning the cookies. The flavors are definitely there! I just need to do a bit of tweaking...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Futrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
This was a great use of extra fresh strawberries! I have a customer at work who brings me baskets of strawberries from her farm almost weekly, and wanted to make something I could bring in for my coworkers. I loved how they turned out! I read in a bunch of other reviews to add up to 1 cup extra four, so I rounded up to 2 cups total and figured I would add more at the end if needed, and I'm so glad I didn't do a whole cup extra! It was so thick I called my husband in to help me mix it after I added the berries. The lid to my cinnamon container came off, so I got a little more than 1tsp, but I liked it anyways, because you could really taste the cinnamon. They turned out amazing, and the fresh berry taste was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraritchey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I added chocolate chips to them and about a 1/2 cup extra flour because the strawberries made it watery. They did however turn out very good and I would definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
i wish I had left my parchment paper on the cookie tray. Now I have a big mess to scrape off the tray! The taste is good but I think this recipe is a fail for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellydawn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
What a DISASTER! There is no way this recipe will work with ripe strawberries. The amount of juice that they produce makes a very runny, unusable batter. My fix: an extra 1 1/2 cups of oatmeal and another cup of flour. Then I put them in a 13x9 pan like quick bread. In theory, you could forgo the milk, and only add a bit more oatmeal and flour, or drain your strawberries before adding them to your batter. I gave this 2 stars based just on the fact that even though it's a disaster waiting to happen, the taste is actually quite nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Pretty good- I added flour, Omitted the cinnimon, and I refridgerated them. Clever idea, but they were just ok. I bet they'd be better if u added cocoa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I had great success with frozen strawberries, honey instead of white sugar, and a handful of dark chocolate chips thrown in. Also -- be liberal with the baking soda! It makes for a lighter cookie. (I think I used 1.5 teaspoons)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
These cam out wonderful. I had fresh frozen strawberries. I used old fashioned rolled oats. I did not have quick oats. They are chewy crispy goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Cornish Stanton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I had many of the same problems as other reviewers. Dough was very runny, even after adding extra flour and oats. I baked them anyway, and they turned out sort of cake-like, which was kind of strange. I only baked half of the recipe because they looked funny, but those cookies disappeared fast, despite the weird texture! Also, the dough was DELICIOUS! I probably ate a dozen cookies worth of cookie dough while making these...I decided to save the rest of the cookie dough to put on ice cream. Soo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
We would just like to say we tried making this recipe, but you know we wanted a lil summtin summtin so we added a lil malibu rum but then it needed more flour so we added it then we baked it and we thought it would be fun to carmalize sugar and strawberries ontop of the cookies they were mushy and we added some mapel syrup and flamed the out of that. Basically these cookies are
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States