Fresh Strawberry Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
VERY GOOD! It wasn't until I was ready to make the topping that I found I didn't have coconut. I decided that I would skip the coconut and sprinkle with cinnamon after baking for added flavor. (I've found that adding it prior to baking, the cinnamon tends to burn). When I sliced the strawberries they weren't the best so I bled them with a touch of sugar for sweetness. As I was putting the strawberries on the batter there wasn't enough to cover it completely so I added a couple more. I knew from making apple crisp that it is cold butter that you need to use for crumb topping. For the topping, everything goes into the mixer at once and you use a whisk, mixing it until just prior to it becoming cookie dough. Pea size crumbs. Because of adding more strawberries, I baked it an additional 10 minutes. It was in a glass 8 inch dish so I was able to watch closely that it didn't burn. While it was cooling, I read some reviews of others adding vanilla. I really thought I was going to have a problem but not so. The strawberry flavor was very present and the cinnamon was a nice touch. We both LOVED IT! Thank you Sue Walker for sharing your recipe! I'm sorry for not following it exactly but it was very easy to adjust with what I had. The sign of a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Made this for recipe group. I served this as a dessert after some grilled chicken. Topped it with some strawberry ice cream. OMGosh it was delish! I did leave out the coconut(sorry) but didn't matter. I'm going to try this with other seasonal fruits. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Party Chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
This makes a really great cake. I times the recipe 1 and 1/2 and baked the cake in a 9x13 pan. I doubled the amount of strawberries and found that it gave the finished product an extra fruity taste. I used a slightly reduced amount of evaporated cane sugar in the bottom layer and organic cane sugar for the top. Also, I used sprouted wheat flour (sifted) because this is the only wheat flour approved for my husband by his nutritionist. Use of this flour gives recipes a more hearty and earthy taste and texture, which sometimes depletes the generally desired aspects of dessert. However, I believe that this recipe actually is better with sprouted wheat flour. Regardless of the flour you use; try this recipe. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Solon Springs, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Elk River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Made this for Recipe Group...Very good! I chopped my strawberries, so that it would be easier to cut through and for better distribution. I didn't measure them, so I may have used more than called for. I also followed other reviewers and used 1/2 teaspoon salt and 1 teaspoon vanilla extract. Very moist and nice strawberry flavor...I will be making this again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Big Hit for Fellowship Coffee Hour at church. Great seasonal treat. Served warm with whipped cream. Easy to make and I didn't change anything. Not too sweet, baked up nice with strawberry juices slightly oozing, the topping was a nice change too brown sugar topping. I kept it in for 40 min and it was done to perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Photo by Tammy Lynn
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Made for Recipe Group: Excellent coffee cake. I loved the coconut topping; I never would have thought to put it with strawberries, but it worked. I will probably use the topping for muffins also. I think I'll reduce the salt to 1/2 tsp the next time I make it. I thought the amount of strawberries was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Mine did not turn out perfectly but nonetheless was delicious. The recipe is a keeper. Think of warm strawberry shortcake. Added the vanilla, omitted the coconut as I didn't have it or a suitable substitute, used a brown sugar/white sugar combo for the topping. Would also be great as a dessert served with whipped cream or ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This was out of this world! My 14-year-old daughter made it and didn't read the directions right used a loaf pan instead of a 9 X 9 it worked out fine although we had to tent it with aluminum foil for 3/4 of the baking time and had to double that to about 60 minutes or until a toothpick came out clean. As a loaf it was more like pound cake on bottom with a yummy crumbcake/strawberry topping. VERY tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
First I must admit I used the fruit I had on hand, which was fresh blueberries. Because I used blueberries, I added a little lemon zest. Oh boy was this good! The cake was moist and light, unlike a lot of coffee cakes, which in my opinion are somewhat dry. The topping set it off nicely, not too sweet, just right. Can't wait to try it with strawberries. Thank you Sue for a winner! UPDATE: Just made this with a mixture of 'frozen' strawberries, blueberries and blackberries (did not thaw berries before placing on cake batter). Very good indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
We loved this recipe, and I followed it to the T except for --> skipping salt 'coz I used salted butter, and chopping the strawberries for an even distribution. I've made this with and without the coconut, both were loved so I can't really say which one was better. And I do add just about 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract (I started doing this 'coz the other reviewers mentioned it, and since it was very well received, I never stopped adding it!) Thanx for sharing Sue! P.S: I liked Shorecook's tip with respect to making this with strawberries that are less sweet. To quote, she says "When I sliced the strawberries they weren't the best so I bled them with a touch of sugar for sweetness." --> will keep this in mind when we're craving strawberry cake but don't have fresh strawberries on hand! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States