Fresh Strawberry Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sunshine Mary
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Very good. I made slight adjustments-added 1/2 tsp vanilla-reduced salt to 1/2 tsp and instead of using 1/2 cup regular white sugar for the crumb topping I used 1/4 cup light brown sugar and 1/4 cup white sugar. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
VERY GOOD! It wasn't until I was ready to make the topping that I found I didn't have coconut. I decided that I would skip the coconut and sprinkle with cinnamon after baking for added flavor. (I've found that adding it prior to baking, the cinnamon tends to burn). When I sliced the strawberries they weren't the best so I bled them with a touch of sugar for sweetness. As I was putting the strawberries on the batter there wasn't enough to cover it completely so I added a couple more. I knew from making apple crisp that it is cold butter that you need to use for crumb topping. For the topping, everything goes into the mixer at once and you use a whisk, mixing it until just prior to it becoming cookie dough. Pea size crumbs. Because of adding more strawberries, I baked it an additional 10 minutes. It was in a glass 8 inch dish so I was able to watch closely that it didn't burn. While it was cooling, I read some reviews of others adding vanilla. I really thought I was going to have a problem but not so. The strawberry flavor was very present and the cinnamon was a nice touch. We both LOVED IT! Thank you Sue Walker for sharing your recipe! I'm sorry for not following it exactly but it was very easy to adjust with what I had. The sign of a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Made this for recipe group. I served this as a dessert after some grilled chicken. Topped it with some strawberry ice cream. OMGosh it was delish! I did leave out the coconut(sorry) but didn't matter. I'm going to try this with other seasonal fruits. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Party Chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
This a simple and delicious coffee cake. I love the fresh strawberry and sugar crumb topping. I think this would make even better individual muffins than a cake. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Made this for Recipe Group...Very good! I chopped my strawberries, so that it would be easier to cut through and for better distribution. I didn't measure them, so I may have used more than called for. I also followed other reviewers and used 1/2 teaspoon salt and 1 teaspoon vanilla extract. Very moist and nice strawberry flavor...I will be making this again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Tiffany Hill
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I went strawberry picking and decided to make this with my freshly picked strawberries. I took the advice of others and reduced the salt to 1/2 tsp and added the 1/2 tsp vanilla extract. For the crumble I used 1/4 c white sugar and 1/4 c brown sugar. Once it was baked through I removed it from the oven and sprinkled with ground cinnamon (I didn't put it prior to baking so it wouldn't burn). It is delicious!! It was so simple to make and presents wonderful flavor. I love how the cake is moist. I will definitely be adding this recipe to my binder and using it again. I'll be making this next month with fresh picked blueberries and raspberries!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Hill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Very simple and easy coffee cake to make. Produces a nice moist and dense cake. I preferred the cake cold but it is good warm as well. I omitted the coconut due to food allergy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
This was good and very easy to make. I felt it could have used more strawberries. Following recommendations of other reviewers, I reduced the salt to 1/2 tsp and added 1/2 teaspoon vanilla. I will probably try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
I ended up with an extremely thick dough like batter and had to thin it out quite a bit. Also, I would recommend using half the salt and unsalted butter, and use vanilla and cinnamon, along with only using brown sugar for the topping. The 9 inch pan was too large and I had to use an 8 inch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Sooo yummy and easy! Per other reviews I did add 1tsp vanilla, reduced the sugar from 3/4C to 1/2C, and used brown sugar instead of white for the topping, with a few dashes of cinnamon mixed in. I had closer to 2C strawberries and it needed an extra 10 min to get the middle cooked. These would be GREAT as a loaf or muffins!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkhurt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States