Fresh Strawberry Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
This a simple and delicious coffee cake. I love the fresh strawberry and sugar crumb topping. I think this would make even better individual muffins than a cake. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunshine Mary
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Very good. I made slight adjustments-added 1/2 tsp vanilla-reduced salt to 1/2 tsp and instead of using 1/2 cup regular white sugar for the crumb topping I used 1/4 cup light brown sugar and 1/4 cup white sugar. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Made this for recipe group. I served this as a dessert after some grilled chicken. Topped it with some strawberry ice cream. OMGosh it was delish! I did leave out the coconut(sorry) but didn't matter. I'm going to try this with other seasonal fruits. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
VERY GOOD! It wasn't until I was ready to make the topping that I found I didn't have coconut. I decided that I would skip the coconut and sprinkle with cinnamon after baking for added flavor. (I've found that adding it prior to baking, the cinnamon tends to burn). When I sliced the strawberries they weren't the best so I bled them with a touch of sugar for sweetness. As I was putting the strawberries on the batter there wasn't enough to cover it completely so I added a couple more. I knew from making apple crisp that it is cold butter that you need to use for crumb topping. For the topping, everything goes into the mixer at once and you use a whisk, mixing it until just prior to it becoming cookie dough. Pea size crumbs. Because of adding more strawberries, I baked it an additional 10 minutes. It was in a glass 8 inch dish so I was able to watch closely that it didn't burn. While it was cooling, I read some reviews of others adding vanilla. I really thought I was going to have a problem but not so. The strawberry flavor was very present and the cinnamon was a nice touch. We both LOVED IT! Thank you Sue Walker for sharing your recipe! I'm sorry for not following it exactly but it was very easy to adjust with what I had. The sign of a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
This was good and very easy to make. I felt it could have used more strawberries. Following recommendations of other reviewers, I reduced the salt to 1/2 tsp and added 1/2 teaspoon vanilla. I will probably try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Very simple and easy coffee cake to make. Produces a nice moist and dense cake. I preferred the cake cold but it is good warm as well. I omitted the coconut due to food allergy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Made this for Recipe Group...Very good! I chopped my strawberries, so that it would be easier to cut through and for better distribution. I didn't measure them, so I may have used more than called for. I also followed other reviewers and used 1/2 teaspoon salt and 1 teaspoon vanilla extract. Very moist and nice strawberry flavor...I will be making this again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
First I must admit I used the fruit I had on hand, which was fresh blueberries. Because I used blueberries, I added a little lemon zest. Oh boy was this good! The cake was moist and light, unlike a lot of coffee cakes, which in my opinion are somewhat dry. The topping set it off nicely, not too sweet, just right. Can't wait to try it with strawberries. Thank you Sue for a winner! UPDATE: Just made this with a mixture of 'frozen' strawberries, blueberries and blackberries (did not thaw berries before placing on cake batter). Very good indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Big Hit for Fellowship Coffee Hour at church. Great seasonal treat. Served warm with whipped cream. Easy to make and I didn't change anything. Not too sweet, baked up nice with strawberry juices slightly oozing, the topping was a nice change too brown sugar topping. I kept it in for 40 min and it was done to perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2013
I used this recipe but instead of a cake I made muffins (cupcake sized), and they turned out wonderfully and were well received by both adults and children at a playgroup. As suggested by another reviewer I added 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract and reduced the amount of salt to 1/2 tsp. (for my preference I'm not sure reducing the salt was necessary and next time I will try the full tsp.). The recipe yielded 12 good-sized muffins, baked at 375 (+convection) for about 28 minutes. thanks for the recipe, will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States