Fresh Strawberry Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
This a simple and delicious coffee cake. I love the fresh strawberry and sugar crumb topping. I think this would make even better individual muffins than a cake. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Very simple and easy coffee cake to make. Produces a nice moist and dense cake. I preferred the cake cold but it is good warm as well. I omitted the coconut due to food allergy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
This makes a really great cake. I times the recipe 1 and 1/2 and baked the cake in a 9x13 pan. I doubled the amount of strawberries and found that it gave the finished product an extra fruity taste. I used a slightly reduced amount of evaporated cane sugar in the bottom layer and organic cane sugar for the top. Also, I used sprouted wheat flour (sifted) because this is the only wheat flour approved for my husband by his nutritionist. Use of this flour gives recipes a more hearty and earthy taste and texture, which sometimes depletes the generally desired aspects of dessert. However, I believe that this recipe actually is better with sprouted wheat flour. Regardless of the flour you use; try this recipe. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Solon Springs, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Elk River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
the recipe was okay as written but nothing special. the topping was salty, i think unsalted butter wouldve been better, with maybe a tiny pinch of salt. i used more 1 1/2 cups of strawberries and i still felt like i wasnt tasting eough strawberry. if i make this again i will definitley add vanilla extract and maybe strawberry extract and some lemon zest. slithered almonds and some sort of cheese on top of the strawberries wouldve made this to die for. I'm a huge baker, but all 4 of the guests i had over last night barely finished their slice. i shouldve tried it first. this recipe would definitely work with any berry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Sunshine Mary
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Very good. I made slight adjustments-added 1/2 tsp vanilla-reduced salt to 1/2 tsp and instead of using 1/2 cup regular white sugar for the crumb topping I used 1/4 cup light brown sugar and 1/4 cup white sugar. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
I used this recipe but instead of a cake I made muffins (cupcake sized), and they turned out wonderfully and were well received by both adults and children at a playgroup. As suggested by another reviewer I added 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract and reduced the amount of salt to 1/2 tsp. (for my preference I'm not sure reducing the salt was necessary and next time I will try the full tsp.). The recipe yielded 12 good-sized muffins, baked at 375 (+convection) for about 28 minutes. thanks for the recipe, will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Really Good Cake and moist !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
This was good and very easy to make. I felt it could have used more strawberries. Following recommendations of other reviewers, I reduced the salt to 1/2 tsp and added 1/2 teaspoon vanilla. I will probably try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Made this for Recipe Group...Very good! I chopped my strawberries, so that it would be easier to cut through and for better distribution. I didn't measure them, so I may have used more than called for. I also followed other reviewers and used 1/2 teaspoon salt and 1 teaspoon vanilla extract. Very moist and nice strawberry flavor...I will be making this again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
VERY GOOD! It wasn't until I was ready to make the topping that I found I didn't have coconut. I decided that I would skip the coconut and sprinkle with cinnamon after baking for added flavor. (I've found that adding it prior to baking, the cinnamon tends to burn). When I sliced the strawberries they weren't the best so I bled them with a touch of sugar for sweetness. As I was putting the strawberries on the batter there wasn't enough to cover it completely so I added a couple more. I knew from making apple crisp that it is cold butter that you need to use for crumb topping. For the topping, everything goes into the mixer at once and you use a whisk, mixing it until just prior to it becoming cookie dough. Pea size crumbs. Because of adding more strawberries, I baked it an additional 10 minutes. It was in a glass 8 inch dish so I was able to watch closely that it didn't burn. While it was cooling, I read some reviews of others adding vanilla. I really thought I was going to have a problem but not so. The strawberry flavor was very present and the cinnamon was a nice touch. We both LOVED IT! Thank you Sue Walker for sharing your recipe! I'm sorry for not following it exactly but it was very easy to adjust with what I had. The sign of a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States