Fresh Strawberry Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I made it today and it was perfect!! I did add lots of strawberries in it. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Oh my word, what a delicious recipe! So easy to make even for someone who hasn't baked a cake in a very long time and is also a pretty rubbish cook!!! I used extra strawberries and added a teaspoon of vanilla extract to the batter. I also put less salt and used a stevia and white sugar blend for the batter and brown sugar for the crumble topping as per other reviews. A huge thank you to Sue Walker for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Awesome recipe. I used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar. And I had blackberries too on hand so I used 1 cup of chopped strawberries and 1/2 cup of blackberries. I made this for my wife for Mother's Day breakfast and she loved it. So simple to make too. Will make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
It was ok, not amazing, but good. Didn't use the coconut..we hate the stuff. added tsp of vanilla to the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This is a delicious recipe! You will not be sorry when you make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jedidiah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Delicious! I followed the recipe to a T and it came out really good! You should try it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This was delish!!!The flavor of the berries and butter really came through well. The coconut was a nice touch in the topping.I used raspberries as that's what I had on hand. I added vanilla to the batter because I add it to nearly everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marybeth Critz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
To my surprise strawberry and coffee flavors go pretty good together. The topping was nice and crunchy, and the coconut flaky and delicious. If you use a baking dish smaller than recommended in the recipe you will most likely have to bake longer to compensate for the cakes depth like I did. A week later I used this recipe as a base for a peach and oatmeal breakfast cake. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I made this into muffins so I could wrap and freeze some easily for lunches. I used egg substitute of 1T flax/3T water, and white whole wheat flour with good success. They ended up a little dry but I believe I over baked them at 25 minutes. The topping made them appear gooey but when I tested them with a toothpick they were quite done. My fault, but thought I would mention it for reference. As muffins, I only used about half the topping and 2/3 the strawberries. I would fill them a little less next time to get the full 12 servings and more strawberries on each. I do think half the topping was about right for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
We loved this recipe, and I followed it to the T except for --> skipping salt 'coz I used salted butter, and chopping the strawberries for an even distribution. I've made this with and without the coconut, both were loved so I can't really say which one was better. And I do add just about 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract (I started doing this 'coz the other reviewers mentioned it, and since it was very well received, I never stopped adding it!) Thanx for sharing Sue! P.S: I liked Shorecook's tip with respect to making this with strawberries that are less sweet. To quote, she says "When I sliced the strawberries they weren't the best so I bled them with a touch of sugar for sweetness." --> will keep this in mind when we're craving strawberry cake but don't have fresh strawberries on hand! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States