Fresh Strawberry Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
It was ok, not amazing, but good. Didn't use the coconut..we hate the stuff. added tsp of vanilla to the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This is a delicious recipe! You will not be sorry when you make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jedidiah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Delicious! I followed the recipe to a T and it came out really good! You should try it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This was delish!!!The flavor of the berries and butter really came through well. The coconut was a nice touch in the topping.I used raspberries as that's what I had on hand. I added vanilla to the batter because I add it to nearly everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marybeth Critz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
To my surprise strawberry and coffee flavors go pretty good together. The topping was nice and crunchy, and the coconut flaky and delicious. If you use a baking dish smaller than recommended in the recipe you will most likely have to bake longer to compensate for the cakes depth like I did. A week later I used this recipe as a base for a peach and oatmeal breakfast cake. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I made this into muffins so I could wrap and freeze some easily for lunches. I used egg substitute of 1T flax/3T water, and white whole wheat flour with good success. They ended up a little dry but I believe I over baked them at 25 minutes. The topping made them appear gooey but when I tested them with a toothpick they were quite done. My fault, but thought I would mention it for reference. As muffins, I only used about half the topping and 2/3 the strawberries. I would fill them a little less next time to get the full 12 servings and more strawberries on each. I do think half the topping was about right for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
We loved this recipe, and I followed it to the T except for --> skipping salt 'coz I used salted butter, and chopping the strawberries for an even distribution. I've made this with and without the coconut, both were loved so I can't really say which one was better. And I do add just about 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract (I started doing this 'coz the other reviewers mentioned it, and since it was very well received, I never stopped adding it!) Thanx for sharing Sue! P.S: I liked Shorecook's tip with respect to making this with strawberries that are less sweet. To quote, she says "When I sliced the strawberries they weren't the best so I bled them with a touch of sugar for sweetness." --> will keep this in mind when we're craving strawberry cake but don't have fresh strawberries on hand! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
First I must admit I used the fruit I had on hand, which was fresh blueberries. Because I used blueberries, I added a little lemon zest. Oh boy was this good! The cake was moist and light, unlike a lot of coffee cakes, which in my opinion are somewhat dry. The topping set it off nicely, not too sweet, just right. Can't wait to try it with strawberries. Thank you Sue for a winner! UPDATE: Just made this with a mixture of 'frozen' strawberries, blueberries and blackberries (did not thaw berries before placing on cake batter). Very good indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Recipe Group Selection: 08, June 2013 ~ I’m a week behind in making the RG’s chosen recipe. I used a 9” deep dish pie pan for this recipe, and it was a perfect size. The coffee cake baked right up to the top of the pan without going over. I used 1 pound of strawberries in this dish and it seemed to be a nice amount. The texture is nice and moist in this dish. The cake portion would be very nice mixed with other fruits - blueberries, rhubarb, raspberries, etc. This was a good selection and one that my family very much enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This was out of this world! My 14-year-old daughter made it and didn't read the directions right used a loaf pan instead of a 9 X 9 it worked out fine although we had to tent it with aluminum foil for 3/4 of the baking time and had to double that to about 60 minutes or until a toothpick came out clean. As a loaf it was more like pound cake on bottom with a yummy crumbcake/strawberry topping. VERY tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States