Fresh Strawberry Almond Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Incredible! Marvelous taste. I've made this four times now. I doubled the crust recipe the first time, but that was a bit too much (despite the fact that I am a crust lover.) Increasing the recipe by 50% was perfect. I quartered the strawberries, since I hate trying to cut fruit while I'm eating. I also added pie thickener (Sure jel? Can't remember.) so the filling wouldn't end up runny. I served this at a BBQ and one of the guest kept complaining how he didn't like nuts in his pie crust. Once he tried it, though, he fell in love with it and had three pieces. This recipe definitely puts all those plain Jane strawberry pies to shame!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J.H. West

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: May 3, 2007
What an unusual crust! Very good...I chose to use a blender to crush the cookies...something I would not recommend doing b/c the oils from the cookies end up being too thick. Next time I will crush the cookies the old fashioned way. I also added the sauce mixture to the sliced strawberries. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
It tasted wonderful!!! We all loved it.. The only thing I'd do differently next time is to mix everything before putting it in the dish.Perhaps I made the sauce to thick but still next time I won't place the strawberries in the dish then pour the sauce on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
I loved the flavors in this pie... the crust was so good. We doubled the crust as suggested, which was good, but I would definitely use a 10" pie pan rather than a 9". Things were overflowing. Also the filling seemed to get more and more runny after refrigeration... so the presentation was pretty messy. But, the flavors made up for it. Very tasty and all my guests liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
Wonderful!! I didn't change a thing. The crust and the glaze taste far better than any other recipe I've tried. This recipe is a keeper! Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Delicious! Nothing more to say about this pie! Here are the slight modifications I made: I doubled the crust as per other reviewers. This definitely makes for a thick crust however the crust is so darn good! I ended up baking it MUCH, MUCH longer than the recipe called for. I had NO problem with this staying together as a pie verses it being more cobbler like as some other reviewers experienced. The only other thing I did differently was I tossed the cooked mixture around with the fresh strawberries. I had used fresh picked homegrown strawberries for this pie. Mine was NOT soupy even 3 days later! I don't know if by mixing the cooked mixture around helped with that? This pie is a winner. The crust is awesome and the almond extract really compliments the strawberries! THANKS FOR SHARING! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
Definitely don't make this a day ahead of time. The fresh strawberries turned runny. The crust had a good flavor, but I don't think I'd bother with this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jacksonville Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2001
If you add a little water to the crust mixture, it makes it easy to cut and it's pretty yummy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
I had problems with the crust. I wasn't sure if the almonds were to be ground but I thought so. So...I overprocessed the crust ingredients and they turned oily. At that point I should have put the crust in the refrigerator for a bit before baking, but I didn't. Despite the fact that the crust ended up like a big flat cookie, it made no difference to the end result which was fabulous! My husband and guests loved it - as I did (the biggest critic of them all!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
Very good pie, but I used the spray whip cream, which made the pie runny b/c we didn't eat it right away. Also, we ate the pie the day after I made it. I think it would have held up better if it was eaten the day of! Otherwise, great flavor. Everyone at work loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States