Fresh Strawberry Almond Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
This was a really delicious pie, and Star is right; the crust is yummy! I added blueberries with the strawberries, and I'm glad I did, because the glaze was a little sweet, so the blueberries balanced everything nicely. It's so good, I'm making it for Easter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
Definitely don't make this a day ahead of time. The fresh strawberries turned runny. The crust had a good flavor, but I don't think I'd bother with this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jacksonville Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
This pie should not be made too far in advance of it being served. Liquid pooled on the top, as I made it a day ahead. Looked unattractive, but was delicious anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
Whew! This is sweet! After reading reviews and applying suggestions, I would add - double the crust recipe and figure out how to make it not crumble. Adding more strawberries helped. And I quartered the strawberries and mixed them with the cooked mixture before pouring it in. I also used a cream cheese whip cream mix (used that mixture from the two tiered strawberry pie recipe) and put a dollop on top. That was tasty. I think the taste of the crust makes the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
I had problems with the crust. I wasn't sure if the almonds were to be ground but I thought so. So...I overprocessed the crust ingredients and they turned oily. At that point I should have put the crust in the refrigerator for a bit before baking, but I didn't. Despite the fact that the crust ended up like a big flat cookie, it made no difference to the end result which was fabulous! My husband and guests loved it - as I did (the biggest critic of them all!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
This was absolutely delicious, considering the fact that i made a wheat-free & no-sugar added version!! For the crust, i used only a few crushed (sugar-free, wheat-free spelt pecan cookies) along with shortening and some protein powder. For the filling, i followed the steps exactly except I used stevia instead of sugar. The only things i would change in this recipe would be to maybe add egg whites in the crust so that it actually holds together (the crust turned out VERY crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetneet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
This pie was AWESOME!! My very, very finicky husband loved it as well...his only suggestion...less whole strawberries and more mashed filling so I will double the mashed portion next time...this is definately a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
I served this for Easter and it was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
The UGLIEST pie I have ever served. The crust came up in pieces - I had to scrape to get it up despite greasing the pie plate. Also, it didn't congeal so it was a runny mess. Tasted good but not much better than other strawberry pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2004
OH MY GOODNESS!!! I MADE THIS PIE LAST NIGHT AND EVERYONE LOVED IT! I'M NOT A BIG FAN OF FRUIT PIES, BUT I AM NOW! THANKS FOR THE RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States