Fresh Strawberry Almond Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
It turned out pretty runny. I would call it more of a cobbler than a pie. Yummy with whip cream on top though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Robbins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
The cookie crust - while tasty - was hard as a rock in some places and fell to pieces in others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shazam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
FYI, cutting the strawberries will cause them to release their juice after they're cut! If you're worried about it being too runny, keep them whole!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I am rating this mainly on the recipe for glaze with no gelatin as that is what I was searching for when I came upon this recipe. I think I cooked mine a little long for fear that it would break down, but if you are careful it makes a great glaze to toss whole strawberries in for strawberry pie without having to run to the store for gelatin... it works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
this tasted good but i've made it twice and had issues with the crust. for some reaso, it just slid onto the bottom of my pie pan. i would make this again but in a square pan for a bar cookie base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Delicious! Nothing more to say about this pie! Here are the slight modifications I made: I doubled the crust as per other reviewers. This definitely makes for a thick crust however the crust is so darn good! I ended up baking it MUCH, MUCH longer than the recipe called for. I had NO problem with this staying together as a pie verses it being more cobbler like as some other reviewers experienced. The only other thing I did differently was I tossed the cooked mixture around with the fresh strawberries. I had used fresh picked homegrown strawberries for this pie. Mine was NOT soupy even 3 days later! I don't know if by mixing the cooked mixture around helped with that? This pie is a winner. The crust is awesome and the almond extract really compliments the strawberries! THANKS FOR SHARING! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This turned out really soupy,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Incredible! Marvelous taste. I've made this four times now. I doubled the crust recipe the first time, but that was a bit too much (despite the fact that I am a crust lover.) Increasing the recipe by 50% was perfect. I quartered the strawberries, since I hate trying to cut fruit while I'm eating. I also added pie thickener (Sure jel? Can't remember.) so the filling wouldn't end up runny. I served this at a BBQ and one of the guest kept complaining how he didn't like nuts in his pie crust. Once he tried it, though, he fell in love with it and had three pieces. This recipe definitely puts all those plain Jane strawberry pies to shame!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J.H. West

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
very good, i also tried this with crushed nilla wafers instead of pecan sandies. I liked it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
This is an excellent recipe. I didn't even use the almonds in the crust (didn't miss them). I saved some nice looking sliced berries and arranged them on top of the glaze which made the pie look very nice. It did get a little runny the next day, but the flavor was fantastic! I will definitely be making this pie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States