Fresh Strawberry Almond Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by DinaLaChef
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
This was delicious! I used a glass pie dish and that was perfect, so you can see the lovely crust and berry colors and how deep the berries go. The changes I made were using 1/4 less cup sugar and I only needed about 4 3/4-5 cups of strawberries to make the pie (1 cup for the pan mixture as stated, 3 3/4-4 cups to fill the pie). For the strawberries I filled the pie with, I sliced them thinly (about 5 slices per large strawberry). When the pan mixture went to cool for ten minutes, I popped the dish with crust into the freezer (after I took it out the oven I had put it in the fridge and it was still warm). Ten minutes later the crust was completely cooled, which was great because I didn't lose any time finishing up the last steps for the pie. Like some other reviewers said, when cut, it turns out more like a cobbler. I cut the first slice carefully, so that one held together as pie. Next time I might increase the serving size for the crust to 1/4-1/2 cup more. With the measurements stated, my crust went up nearly all the way for half the dish but only about 1/4 for the other half. Also, I live in Michigan and it's strawberry season. I used about 1 cup of local picked berries to make up my 4 3/4-5 cups. This made the pie even more delicious with that natural strawberry flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinaLaChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
First of all, thank you fellow review writers for your prudent suggestions! I would have given this recipe a 5-star rating just based on the delicious use of those cookies along with strawberries. From the suggestions however, I doubled the crust and used 1T of water with a whole bag of rolling pin-crushed cookies and other ingredients for the crust and used a 10" pan. I had pecans on hand not almonds so I toasted 3/4 c of pecans and then ground them in the food processor. I used a small box of sugar free strawberry jello and omitted the sugar for the glaze. The jello in conjunction with the cornstarch prevented soupy strawberries for several days and the crust got better, but it may have held up better with ground pecans. I also agree with the reviewer who advised that mixing the whole berries with the glaze versus pouring it over the berries in the pie shell did not compromise the integrity of the pie shell as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Was a wonderful treat!! My whole family enjoyed. I doubled the crust, which is super yummy! Next time I make this though, I will make it in a glass cake pan as more of a cobbler than a pie as it didn't hold together as firmly as I would have liked. Regardless, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunnydae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
It turned out pretty runny. I would call it more of a cobbler than a pie. Yummy with whip cream on top though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Robbins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
The cookie crust - while tasty - was hard as a rock in some places and fell to pieces in others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shazam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
FYI, cutting the strawberries will cause them to release their juice after they're cut! If you're worried about it being too runny, keep them whole!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I am rating this mainly on the recipe for glaze with no gelatin as that is what I was searching for when I came upon this recipe. I think I cooked mine a little long for fear that it would break down, but if you are careful it makes a great glaze to toss whole strawberries in for strawberry pie without having to run to the store for gelatin... it works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
this tasted good but i've made it twice and had issues with the crust. for some reaso, it just slid onto the bottom of my pie pan. i would make this again but in a square pan for a bar cookie base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Delicious! Nothing more to say about this pie! Here are the slight modifications I made: I doubled the crust as per other reviewers. This definitely makes for a thick crust however the crust is so darn good! I ended up baking it MUCH, MUCH longer than the recipe called for. I had NO problem with this staying together as a pie verses it being more cobbler like as some other reviewers experienced. The only other thing I did differently was I tossed the cooked mixture around with the fresh strawberries. I had used fresh picked homegrown strawberries for this pie. Mine was NOT soupy even 3 days later! I don't know if by mixing the cooked mixture around helped with that? This pie is a winner. The crust is awesome and the almond extract really compliments the strawberries! THANKS FOR SHARING! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This turned out really soupy,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States