Fresh-Squeezed Salty Dog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
This is sooo tasty. Don't be deceived by its simplicity! I used bottled grapefruit juice (100% juice, not ruby red) and a couple pinches of salt. I think I like this even better than my usual summer fav of gin and tonic and that is saying alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanette Steiner Grayhek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
This is a great drink. I make mine with vodka instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PolarbearLS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnetka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Really good & fresh, felt healthy tasting (even though I am drinking BA-HOOZE)! Easy to make, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Move over, Rover, there's a Salty Dog in town! This recipe alone gives one reason to keep gin in the freezer and grapefruit in the fruit bowl all summer long. Cheers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
LOL!!I pulled off a couple of shopping bags worth of grapefruits just yesterday(being a grape grower I think we need to change the name of grapefruit!!), squeezed them and made vodka "Salty Dogs". Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Love, love, love this cocktail! So simple. I used 1/2 grapefruit, a teaspoon af simple syrup, and a jigger of gin. I salted the rim with coarse salt. Perfect! I think I'll have a double next time! I enjoy the taste of gin, but the drink works equally well with vodka. The grapefruit hides the alcohol taste, so be careful not to drink too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
After buying tons of grapefruit from a co-worker's son for a high school fundraiser, I tried this recipe and my oh my, am I glad I did! I used vodka instead of gin just because that's what I had on hand, and added a packet of Splenda for a little sweetness. Very refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This drink is great but try not to add too much salt. Also, DO NOT USE A PLASTIC CUP. The acid + the salt = a very messed up cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salty Dog Cocktail

See how to make a simple vodka and grapefruit cocktail with a salty rim.

Afternoon Delight Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender shake some gin and juice.

The Guatermelon Especial Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix a refreshing rum and watermelon cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States