Fresh Spring Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
These Are EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I love them because of their texture and they are refreshing because they weren't fried that was good, These I had in a local Thai place and are similar to these. These were SOOOOOOOOOOOO... GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I used brocoslaw to make it faster and all I could find was frozen rice papers it was so easy and mixed the slaw with sweet chili sauce from the Asin store I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
The spring rolls recipe as published was OK but I couldn't help doctoring them up to make them outstanding :-)! I used napa cabbage, frozen tiny steamed shrimp (canned is yuckky), and matchstick carrots. I also added shredded poached chicken breast, matchstick red peppers and cilantro. I didn't measure these but just threw in what I had -- that's the beauty of these: experiment! For dipping sauce, I used hoisin sauce, Thai sweet chili sauce and a soy/ginger sauce. The recipe made almost 50 spring rolls and they disappeared from the platter in less than 10 minutes at my brother's wedding reception! By the way, I made these the night before, laying them on a platter scattered with shredded napa cabbage. I covered them with damp paper towels and then shrouded the whole thing with foil. They were PERFECT the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Golden, Colorado, USA
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
Have made these for two Xmas parties this season both times eaten in an hour. I added some bean sprouts and used real shrimp. I used Thia sweet chili sauce as my sweet and sour. what I like about this recipe is that you have a base to start with but you can add anything that you like. Thanks Rayna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
These were perfect after a little doctoring up. I didn't use shrimp, instead I used well chopped stir fry chicken with thai chili sauce and sweet and sour. This was the first time I've tried making Spring Rolls. These were easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Youngblood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
WE REALLY LIKED THESE, I USED A BAG OF FROZEN COCKTAIL SHRIMP, NAPA CABBAGE, MUSHROOMS. TURNED OUT VERY WELL. TO SOAK THE RICE WRAPPERS, BE VERY CAREFUL. TOO LONG WILL MAKE THEM LIKE GLUE BALLS, TOO SHORT WILL MAKE THEM LIKE BENDING CARDBOARD. BY THE TIME I ROLLED ONE AND HAD 1 IN THE WATER SOAKING, THE NEXT 1 WAS READY TO BE ROLLED OUT. USE WARM WATER TOO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calebbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I served these as an appetizer for friends and they loved them! I took others suggestion and added cilantro, fresh red pepper and fresh shrimp. Made 17 rolls, Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockledge, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
these were fabulous and super healthy!i put thai basil,slice of scallion,shrimp,finely shredded cabbage and carrots, and minced ginger. you can pick up a yummy thai pnut sauce and sweet chili sauce at any oriental market :) less is more when filling these rolls.you get a tighter fold and they are easier for guests to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
dead easy to make and yummy too !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nwfc65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LED87
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I made mine with cabbage, cucumber, carrot, bean sprouts and shitake mushrooms for a real veggie spring roll. I did not add shrimp. I serve with the Ginger People Sweet Chili Sauce from Whole Foods. Very good with homeade sushi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

How to Make a California Spring Rolls

Watch Chef John make fresh spring rolls with “crab” and avocado.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States