Fresh Spring Rolls With Thai Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
These spring rolls are awesome! It's always a little nerve-wracking to be the first person to try out a recipe, but these were delicious. I'm not big on the sauce in the recipe, however. I paired these rolls with the Indonesian Satay recipe from this site. That recipe included instructions for a peanut sauce which was WONDERFUL with the spring rolls. I have never worked with rice wrappers before. I was suprised at how pliable they were. I completely soaked the wrappers to make them soft but they never ripped. Once I got the hang of wrapping the filling it was easy. I did use small wrappers and could only fit 1/12 of the filling in each, therefore ended up making 12 little bites. I also added some bean sprouts for extra crunch. Fantastic! Really scrumptous and so healthful. Not to mention one of the most fun recipes I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
It took some time getting all the ingredients prepared but it was worth the effort. We had so much fun making the rolls and eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
These tasted really great and I liked the Thai dipping sauce too, it was just right. The only problem that I had with this recipe was rolling the spring rolls. I have trouble with rolling burritos too:) Needless to say the last roll I made looked really good, but the ones before it did not look so good. But hey, it still tasted good:) Thanks for sharing your reicpe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Recipe was great! However....shrimp is meat! Incidentally. At least to most vegetarians.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeadMansParty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
We liked these spring rolls. I couldn't find mirin at the store I went to so we used duck sauce instead. Since then I found mirin & next time I do this recipe, I will make the proper sauce to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Very yummy! We're going to continue making this recipe. Simply awsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Great recipe! Maesri spring roll sauce is ideal for fried and fresh spring rolls. Add a small bunch of fresh chopped mint leaves for extra flavor! Most fresh spring roll wrappers need only a quick rinse on both sides and set about 60 seconds. I find this worked well on this recipe, as soaking resulted in wrappers that were too flimsy and weak to roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
I'm going to say that this was just ok...I forgot to put in the lettuce and my cilantro went bad(in 2 days), so I used chopped scallions instead. I think I was expecting more...the texture of the spring roll wrapper was a little rubbery. I will try these again, maybe adjust the filling, add shitaki mushrooms. The dipping sauce was great and I also found a jar of Thai spicy chili sauce in my food store which was so yummy and spicy. Will give this another attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
sorry - this did not work for me. I thought I had made these once before, but it must have been a different recipe. They were hard to roll tightly. so they looked sloppy. the wrapper became rubbery. I will not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
This was pretty good, but took a while to prepare. I didn't really like th dipping sauce, so I used peanut sauce instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Hinkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

How to Make a California Spring Rolls

Watch Chef John make fresh spring rolls with “crab” and avocado.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States