Fresh Spring Rolls With Thai Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
These spring rolls are awesome! It's always a little nerve-wracking to be the first person to try out a recipe, but these were delicious. I'm not big on the sauce in the recipe, however. I paired these rolls with the Indonesian Satay recipe from this site. That recipe included instructions for a peanut sauce which was WONDERFUL with the spring rolls. I have never worked with rice wrappers before. I was suprised at how pliable they were. I completely soaked the wrappers to make them soft but they never ripped. Once I got the hang of wrapping the filling it was easy. I did use small wrappers and could only fit 1/12 of the filling in each, therefore ended up making 12 little bites. I also added some bean sprouts for extra crunch. Fantastic! Really scrumptous and so healthful. Not to mention one of the most fun recipes I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
It took some time getting all the ingredients prepared but it was worth the effort. We had so much fun making the rolls and eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
These tasted really great and I liked the Thai dipping sauce too, it was just right. The only problem that I had with this recipe was rolling the spring rolls. I have trouble with rolling burritos too:) Needless to say the last roll I made looked really good, but the ones before it did not look so good. But hey, it still tasted good:) Thanks for sharing your reicpe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Very yummy! We're going to continue making this recipe. Simply awsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Great recipe! Maesri spring roll sauce is ideal for fried and fresh spring rolls. Add a small bunch of fresh chopped mint leaves for extra flavor! Most fresh spring roll wrappers need only a quick rinse on both sides and set about 60 seconds. I find this worked well on this recipe, as soaking resulted in wrappers that were too flimsy and weak to roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
These were great, just like my local Thai restaurant. I bought the spring roll wrappers in Chinatown, so most of the packages weren't in English. I did find one in English that said to put a damp cloth over the wrappers for 30 mins. I did that, and it totally worked. I used water to seal the edges and they came out beautifully. Also, I used the satay peanut sauce as recommended by another reviewer. Awesome! I ate the sauce with a spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Very yummy! I'm Thai and I found this to taste similar to what my mother would make. I made this with several different dipping sauces. Always nice to have a salty, a sweet and a peanut sauce. I did cut each piece of shrimp into 3rds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Snyder, Texas, USA
Photo by Yummy 4 Tummy
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Yummy! They tasted just like I had ordered them at a Thai restaurant! I made the rolls exactly as the recipe read. Could not find mirin so I had to find a substitute online. The sauce was pretty good. We also had store bought peanut sauce which was very good on them. All I can say is you have to be very careful with the wraps or they will tear. You can do it though. This was a good starter before serving Sukhothai Pad Thai & Thai Chicken Curry with Pineapple from this site. TRY THIS RECIPE!!! AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yummy 4 Tummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I make these all the time for a quick, light dinner. My favorite dip is quick peanut sauce - 2T hoisin, 2T peanut butter, 1T light soy. Slowly drizzle water in until it achieves a smooth texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Thai Spiced Barbecue Shrimp

See how to make a kicking Thai-inspired marinade for grilled shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States