Fresh Spring Rolls With Thai Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
The spring roll wrappers needed should be specified more clearly. There are two types of wrappers available. One kind needs to be cooked (made from flour and eggs) while the other (made from rice flour) does not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I make these all the time for a quick, light dinner. My favorite dip is quick peanut sauce - 2T hoisin, 2T peanut butter, 1T light soy. Slowly drizzle water in until it achieves a smooth texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
These spring rolls are awesome! It's always a little nerve-wracking to be the first person to try out a recipe, but these were delicious. I'm not big on the sauce in the recipe, however. I paired these rolls with the Indonesian Satay recipe from this site. That recipe included instructions for a peanut sauce which was WONDERFUL with the spring rolls. I have never worked with rice wrappers before. I was suprised at how pliable they were. I completely soaked the wrappers to make them soft but they never ripped. Once I got the hang of wrapping the filling it was easy. I did use small wrappers and could only fit 1/12 of the filling in each, therefore ended up making 12 little bites. I also added some bean sprouts for extra crunch. Fantastic! Really scrumptous and so healthful. Not to mention one of the most fun recipes I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Great recipe! Maesri spring roll sauce is ideal for fried and fresh spring rolls. Add a small bunch of fresh chopped mint leaves for extra flavor! Most fresh spring roll wrappers need only a quick rinse on both sides and set about 60 seconds. I find this worked well on this recipe, as soaking resulted in wrappers that were too flimsy and weak to roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I love the freshness of this dish, however I changed a few things. I used mixed greens instead of regular lettuce which added great color to it. I also maranated then steamed the shrimp. The maranade is simple, I used lemon juice and garlic with a smidgin of olive oil. I then took my steamer and steamed the raw shrimp till the shells were pink, around 5 min. Instead of the dipping sauce which I wasn't fond of I used hoisen sause with crushed peanuts on top. WAYYYY better. Also for added spice I had a side of crushed chili sause.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D-LITE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Very yummy! I'm Thai and I found this to taste similar to what my mother would make. I made this with several different dipping sauces. Always nice to have a salty, a sweet and a peanut sauce. I did cut each piece of shrimp into 3rds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
This sounds very simalar to the spring rolls I make. I use cellephane/bean thread noodles, mint and thai basil in mine. It makes them filling enough for a main course. I also prepare a couple of different kinds of meat like pork or chicken so people can make it to their taste. You could always leave out the meat or use tofu to make it vegetarian if you like. My family really enjoys sitting down to this 'hands on' meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Mixon Wright

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Chesnee, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
These were great, just like my local Thai restaurant. I bought the spring roll wrappers in Chinatown, so most of the packages weren't in English. I did find one in English that said to put a damp cloth over the wrappers for 30 mins. I did that, and it totally worked. I used water to seal the edges and they came out beautifully. Also, I used the satay peanut sauce as recommended by another reviewer. Awesome! I ate the sauce with a spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yummy 4 Tummy
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Yummy! They tasted just like I had ordered them at a Thai restaurant! I made the rolls exactly as the recipe read. Could not find mirin so I had to find a substitute online. The sauce was pretty good. We also had store bought peanut sauce which was very good on them. All I can say is you have to be very careful with the wraps or they will tear. You can do it though. This was a good starter before serving Sukhothai Pad Thai & Thai Chicken Curry with Pineapple from this site. TRY THIS RECIPE!!! AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yummy 4 Tummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
I'm going to say that this was just ok...I forgot to put in the lettuce and my cilantro went bad(in 2 days), so I used chopped scallions instead. I think I was expecting more...the texture of the spring roll wrapper was a little rubbery. I will try these again, maybe adjust the filling, add shitaki mushrooms. The dipping sauce was great and I also found a jar of Thai spicy chili sauce in my food store which was so yummy and spicy. Will give this another attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

How to Make a California Spring Rolls

Watch Chef John make fresh spring rolls with “crab” and avocado.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States