Fresh Spring Rolls With Thai Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
This sounds very simalar to the spring rolls I make. I use cellephane/bean thread noodles, mint and thai basil in mine. It makes them filling enough for a main course. I also prepare a couple of different kinds of meat like pork or chicken so people can make it to their taste. You could always leave out the meat or use tofu to make it vegetarian if you like. My family really enjoys sitting down to this 'hands on' meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Mixon Wright

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Chesnee, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
My local Thai Restaurant stopped serving these, so I was delighted to find a recipe...and it tastes exactly like them. Thank you, thank you! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy K.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I make these all the time for a quick, light dinner. My favorite dip is quick peanut sauce - 2T hoisin, 2T peanut butter, 1T light soy. Slowly drizzle water in until it achieves a smooth texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yummy 4 Tummy
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Yummy! They tasted just like I had ordered them at a Thai restaurant! I made the rolls exactly as the recipe read. Could not find mirin so I had to find a substitute online. The sauce was pretty good. We also had store bought peanut sauce which was very good on them. All I can say is you have to be very careful with the wraps or they will tear. You can do it though. This was a good starter before serving Sukhothai Pad Thai & Thai Chicken Curry with Pineapple from this site. TRY THIS RECIPE!!! AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yummy 4 Tummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly as stated, but these didn't turn out very good at all. The wrappers became very mushy and could barely hold the shrimp/veggie mixture inside. Also, the taste was extremely bland overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Pasadena, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I love the freshness of this dish, however I changed a few things. I used mixed greens instead of regular lettuce which added great color to it. I also maranated then steamed the shrimp. The maranade is simple, I used lemon juice and garlic with a smidgin of olive oil. I then took my steamer and steamed the raw shrimp till the shells were pink, around 5 min. Instead of the dipping sauce which I wasn't fond of I used hoisen sause with crushed peanuts on top. WAYYYY better. Also for added spice I had a side of crushed chili sause.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D-LITE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Snyder, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
i didn't have cucumber, so i just used carrots and lettuce and prawns. instead of cutting the carrots, i grated them with the big grater. i also added a bit of japanese mayonnaise for flavor. and i didn't make the dipping sauce, i just used kikkoman soy sauce. i'd make it again. it was easy to make and very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mad Izatie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Very yummy! I'm Thai and I found this to taste similar to what my mother would make. I made this with several different dipping sauces. Always nice to have a salty, a sweet and a peanut sauce. I did cut each piece of shrimp into 3rds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
These were great, just like my local Thai restaurant. I bought the spring roll wrappers in Chinatown, so most of the packages weren't in English. I did find one in English that said to put a damp cloth over the wrappers for 30 mins. I did that, and it totally worked. I used water to seal the edges and they came out beautifully. Also, I used the satay peanut sauce as recommended by another reviewer. Awesome! I ate the sauce with a spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

How to Make a California Spring Rolls

Watch Chef John make fresh spring rolls with “crab” and avocado.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States