Fresh Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This makes a very rich, tasty sauce without much salt. I substituted part fresh oregano for the dried and used a generous amount of fresh basil in place of some of the italian seasoning. I also used half olive oil and half butter for cooking the vegetables (less than called for overall.) The recipe makes a beautiful, chunky sauce. However, I pureed mine so my picky children would eat it. Make extras to freeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
A really nice spaghetti sauce. Forgot the ricotta, added some meatballs. Found the sauce a little sweet but remembering the ricotta would probably halp balance that out. Love the fresh ingredients and no added salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Excellent sauce! Only changes I made: I did not use Riccota(will try next time) and I used regular brown sugar. Very rich complex taste , best sauce from this site for now, although takes time, but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This was rediculously good. I left out the sugar/splenda, chili powder, didn't have any zucchini or ricotta, and I used a bag of regular tomatoes from my neighbors garden. Also I added about a half pound of ground beef and chopped chicken liver (vitamins!) Yum Yum Yum Yum Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smithchelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Delicious and easy to make sauce. I used tomatoes, bell peppers, and eggplant (no zucchini) from our garden, left out the ricotta, and served with chicken meatballs and whole wheat linguine. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
OMG this is so fabulous! I used fresh vegetables and tomatoes from my garden. So I did not use roma tomatoes, I used beefsteak tomatoes. I omitted the red bell pepper. This is the best spaghetti sauce I've ever had. Making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Cartwright-Diekevers

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grandville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This sauce was amazing! I didn't have zucchini, don't like mushrooms, used garlic powder instead of garlic, used tomato sauce instead of paste, didn't add the bay leaf or the ricotta, used a variety of tomotoes from the garden and it was just fantastic! Definitely worth the time, I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
First, my changes. Added 1/2 can of olives, used only red bell pepper and omitted the sugar and dairy. (allergic to them) And with those few changes, I had pasta sauce to RAVE about! It was fantastic!! Thank you so much, this is keeper! My first time making sauce from scratch, and I am not going back to canned-this sauce rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by That Girl3

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Delicious Sauce!!! I started making this sauce last year when I was new to gardening and wasn't sure what to do with all my tomatoes. I came across this recipe and thought, this sounds awesome! Well it was. I made some of my own modifications (as everyone probably does), first I did not include mushrooms or ricotta cheese, as I do not care for either of them, second, I added mild italian sausage. Just remove the sausage meat from the casing (easy to do, just squeeze it out of both ends), brown the meat in a frying pan then add it to the sauce. I usually do this part after the vegetables, just use the same pan. Always turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Amazing sauce! This was my first time making a pasta sauce from scratch. I don't think I will ever but a jar of sauce again. I used all fresh ingredients from my garden. I did make a few changes. Instead of roma tomatoes, i used about 10 big boy tomatoes. I omitted the red pepper, chili powder, Splenda blend and ricotta. I added 1 cup of chopped carrots, 1/2 cup of chopped celery and I used about 3 tablespoons of fresh chopped basil. I reduced the oregano to 1 tablespoon. The aroma of the sauce has made my mouth water all day! If you prefer a chunky sause, as I do, than this is the perfect recipe for you! I will probably add the ricotta cheese to a future batch. I just didn't have any on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States