Fresh Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Very Good, 1 tip I was told by a neighbor, if you are using fresh tomatoes, place in a brown paper bag the night before and freeze. Let them start thawing in the sink and run under warm water and if they are ripe they are very easy to peal if they are still a little green they are a little harder and then you do not have boil the water and let them cool. Really enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leesville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Excellent sauce! Only changes I made: I did not use Riccota(will try next time) and I used regular brown sugar. Very rich complex taste , best sauce from this site for now, although takes time, but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cradg
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This is the best spaghetti sauce I have ever had! It's deliciously rich and the flavors burst in your mouth. Absolutely recommend it - it's amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
First, my changes. Added 1/2 can of olives, used only red bell pepper and omitted the sugar and dairy. (allergic to them) And with those few changes, I had pasta sauce to RAVE about! It was fantastic!! Thank you so much, this is keeper! My first time making sauce from scratch, and I am not going back to canned-this sauce rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by That Girl3

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This sauce was amazing! I didn't have zucchini, don't like mushrooms, used garlic powder instead of garlic, used tomato sauce instead of paste, didn't add the bay leaf or the ricotta, used a variety of tomotoes from the garden and it was just fantastic! Definitely worth the time, I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
EDIT: Try blending the tomatoes in a blender intead of smashing them for a smoother sauce. Then mix the paste in. Hope it helps! I wish this sauce had pics because if it had I wouldn't have tried it. I prefer a more smoother sauce to where I can taste the sauce on my noodles. With this sauce it more of a thicker veggie substance. The spices seemed a bit much so I did decrease on table of the oregano and am so glad I did! I think it actually needed a little less then that. NOTE: If you don't have Roma Tomatoes then be aware that they are by no means a large tomatoe, they are between small and med. size. Mash the tomatoes up good. The sauce was ok. But will definatly be looking for another sauce. Thanks for the recipe though. It was something to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
OMG this is so fabulous! I used fresh vegetables and tomatoes from my garden. So I did not use roma tomatoes, I used beefsteak tomatoes. I omitted the red bell pepper. This is the best spaghetti sauce I've ever had. Making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Cartwright-Diekevers

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grandville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
A really nice spaghetti sauce. Forgot the ricotta, added some meatballs. Found the sauce a little sweet but remembering the ricotta would probably halp balance that out. Love the fresh ingredients and no added salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Very good recipe. Love the fresh ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This was rediculously good. I left out the sugar/splenda, chili powder, didn't have any zucchini or ricotta, and I used a bag of regular tomatoes from my neighbors garden. Also I added about a half pound of ground beef and chopped chicken liver (vitamins!) Yum Yum Yum Yum Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smithchelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States