Fresh Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I forgot to add the Ricotta cheese, otherwise was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Yummy stuff! I was only able to cook this for about 3 hrs and I wasn't sure if I was supposed to but I ended adding about an extra 2 to 3 cups of water throughout the cooking process because it was just cooking down so much! Salt (and pepper if you want) is definitely a must to get this seasoned right. Next time I may cut down the sugar by half. We really did enjoy this :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Too much sugar, other than that I love it. Will half brown sugar next time, hopefully that makes it perfect for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I used it as a starter sauce, and then took it from there. Very good start. I agree with most of the other reviews , you don't need the ricotta , I didn't use it as keeping the calories down. I blended my tomatoes down and added red wine and water together for the 2 cups. My family likes a smoother sauce. Also my family isn't big fans of the veggies so after I sautéed them I blended them into a purée and added to the sauce. I added fresh basil and oregano along with other Italian seasonings. More garlic and also as I was using wine I upped the paste to 15 oz instead of 12 also increased the brown sugar and added salt. My family loved it, especially my husband who likes when sauce holds to the pasta. I also made homemade pasta, meatballs and homemade bread so all went well together. Recommend it as a starter then take it from there..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I spent my entire adult life looking for the perfect spaghetti sauce. This is it for me! I do cheat and use canned tomatoes but everything else is exact and it's really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Although the flavor was good, I did not care for the texture and sight of this dish. The kids would not even try it. I guess we will just stick to other recipes that have worked better for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
love this recipe with a few modifications. first time we made this, we made it as per the recipe, and it was great before we put in the ricotta. the ricotta made the texture a bit different, but it was still good. I've made this a number of times since, making a few changes: we left the cheese out, and used double (or more) garlic, and added a chopped up chilli pepper to the garlic and bay leaves. nice and spicy, and fresh tasting. lots of compliments as we've served this a couple times as vegetarian option for dinner parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I loved the chunky veggies and the spices. Used baby bellas and added some shredded carrots. Forgot to add the ricotta. It just needed a bit more salt, I think (but I like things really salty).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Really good! I didn't peel the tomatoes, and it was still fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Pretty good, but needed something sharper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States